Juicy Peach Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Yummy! 5-star, except I did what a lot of others did. I replaced 1/2 cup flour with 1/2 cup rolled oats, decreased white sugar to a little over 1/2 cup and increased brown sugar to 1/2 cup. Used 3/4 teaspoon Penzey's Vietnamese cinnamon, which is really sweet. Left butter at 1/2 cup and rubbed into flour mixture with my fingers. Put my unpeeled sliced peaches in a bowl and added a little more than 1 teaspoon almond extract and 1 tablespoon cornstarch. Baked at 375 for 40 minutes. It smelled heavenly. Served hot with vanilla ice cream. Husband asked what made the topping taste "like candy." I'm glad I used the cornstarch; my peaches were pretty soft and VERY juicy. My new favorite crisp recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Made this for a potluck, and it was a crowd favorite. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Loved this and so did everyone else! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Delicious. Added chopped pecans to the top. Would probably use 2-3 more peaches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Outstanding and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Yum! Exactly what I was looking for. I also substituted 1/2 of the flour for oatmeal, used 1/2 the white sugar, and 1/2 the butter. Will definitely be a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
honestly the best dessert i've ever had. amaaaaaaaaaaaaazing. just added a little vanilla but other than that, no changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My husband took one bite, then looked at me and pronounced that it was "dangerous." He didn't speak again until the bowl was licked clean. Success! I blanched the peaches to peel them, as some suggested (drop in hot water, then icy water). I used about 3/4 cup sugar rather than the full cup. I also used vanilla extract instead of almond (that's what I had), added a sprinkle of lemon juice to the fruit, and added about 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the topping. I think I might try replacing some of the flour with oats, as some suggested - I forgot until after the flour was measured. Thanks for this! Super easy, super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was wonderful, I made the topping with half quick oats and half flour as suggested by some reviewers, and I used 7 peaches and that made more than enough peach filling. I did sprinkle a bit of nutmeg over the peaches, and sprinkled the peaches with a spoonful of cornstarch to thicken a bit. The peaches were sweet and juicy, the topping had the perfect sweet crunchy goodness. Served warm with melty vanilla ice cream ~ WOW what a way to celebrate summer !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States