Juicy Lucy Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Minnesota's contribution to the culinary world! Don't forget to let this gem sit for a few minutes before taking your first bite, or you will have molten lava dribbling down your chin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Just about the best burger ever. Saw the recipe on a food showdown recently. Introduced it to my husband today for lunch and he was impressed. Fresh ground beef is a must. We like 2 pieces of cheese per burger. A little messier but oooh sooo worth it. Keep the napkins handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I have made these before. They are good with Blue Cheese. Try making with your favorite cheese and you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
The recipe is very good as it is, but fantastic if you double the wochestershire sauce and I like to use 2 tsp of montreal steak seasoning in place of the garlic salt and pepper. Two very important things - it is absolutely critical that you leave enough room on the edges to get a good seal. If the cheese runs out, not near as good. And by the way, if the cheese does start to run out, its done! Get it off the grill or pan before you lose your cheese! I tried to make this a little healthier with 94% lean burger....not near as good as when I made the exact same recipe with 80% lean. You need the fat and grease for a great burger. BTW - I saw 1 review that gave 1 star because the cheese leaked out (user error) and 1 gave a low rating because the recipe has a lot of fat. REALLY? Rate on the quality of the recipe, not on your ability to cook or you opinion of what is healthy or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Somehow, my initial review was deleted. I basically said what another person said, i.e., "heart attack on a bun," although I wouldn't make quite so drastic an evaluation. However, due to its high calorie and high fat content, this is the sort of thing that should be eaten sparingly. I used very, very lean ground beef and low fat cheese, which helped to mitigate some of the unhealthier attributes of this burger. Having eaten one just a few days ago, I won't have another for probably six months. Just too much fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I liked the idea of putting the cheese inside the burgers; makes them neater! Instead of the garlic salt and black pepper, I used Montreal Steak Seasoning. We both liked these and would make them again, but next time I want to try them with pepper jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
If it is anything like Matt's Famous Juicy Lucy - they will be fabulous! The recipe sounds just like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Great way to do burgers. I do similiar with Meat Loaf; half ground beef mixture (I also add a little squirt of Mustard and BBQ Sauce) on bottom of loaf pan, then lots of layers of Cheese, then top off with rest of beef. Pinch layers together to seal Cheese in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Needed a new burger idea, so I turned to "the buzz" for a fast recommendation and this was the only one that was suggested- ( NOT a recipe that would have caught my eye). I followed the recipe as directed, except with lean beef because that's what I had on hand. I was a bit concerned about all of the "ooze" warnings, so I smashed the patties out on waxed paper between two salad plates so the thickness would be as uniform as possible, and turned the edges like a pie crust to seal. Surprisingly, none of the cheese blew out, it almost "absorbed" into the burger. Served it on toasted Portuguese rolls with leaf lettuce, tomato and red onion. I had some "In-a-Pinch Ketchup" in the fridge, (recipe I found on AR) and the flavors complimented perfectly. These burgers are sooo "slap your mama" good (no offense "Cooking Mama"!), and we just can't wait to try them on the grill ! ....Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
We too saw this on the Foodnetwork and just had to try it. A definite YUM! I used garlic powder instead of the salt but sprinkled in a bit of a much healthier sea salt. No such thing as too much cheese so we also added the cheddar we used on top. So good and thank you Cooking Mama!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States