Juicy Grilled Corn On The Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Great recipe - I soaked my corn in the sugar/salt water for a couple of hours. I used all the sugar and 1/4 cup of salt. I left the husks intact (peeling them back a little and removing a bit of excess silk) because that's how I grill them so the corn basically stems inside the husk. I'm not sure if we had really good corn or if it was the soak, but my husband looked up at me and said he wished we'd grilled more corn. So, we have a winner here and this will be how we soak our corn from now on.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Everyone loves sweet corn, but these tasted more like all that sugar and took away from the natural sweetness that is so yummy. My family all felt the same way. Sorry. The only reason I can even give 2 stars is for the grilling. Grilled corn is the best, but I will go back to how I usually do it. I wrap the cleaned cobs in foil with a few small butter pats inside each. The only down side is that you cannot see how they are cooking and when they are done. If you get the right timing down with your grill, they are incredible, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
this was a great recipe. corn came out juicy and flavorful. my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is how we do corn on the cob when in season here in FL. But never added sugar...guess we have sweet enough corn here and don't remove the husk or silk, it comes off easier when you pull back the hot husk and gives flavor. Slap on your butter and your good, have a corn dish as to catch all the butter and roll your corn in it. I do sprinkle a bit of salt...shame on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I was looking for a grill recipe for corn on the cob we had purchased at the store, as I was having a small party and wanted to grill anything I could (never waste charcoal!). This went over WAY too well; I cooked over twelve pieces and only got to eat one myself! The kids loved it, as did the parents (haha!). I definitly use this everytime I need to grill out now; I also use it as a boil on the stove when the weather turns bad, I just start the burner while it's soaking, and they tasted good that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
We don't have boiled corn ever anymore. This is so tasty! we probably grill it alittle more (ok it gets pretty dark :) I can see where it would be over sweet if it isn't grilled for a while but once it hits a certain doneness the flavors enhance the corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlstadt, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Unfortunately, this recipe made our corn way too sweet. It took away from the natural flavor of the corn. It wasn't any juicer than when I regularly grill corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I'm anxious to try this again to see if it really is that good or if I just had some really good corn??!! This totally surprised me - and I didn't grill them - I wrapped them in wax paper and microwaved them. They were great - and I will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Perfect, easy way to make corn - and all loved it. At first, everyone thought you had to do SOMETHING else - certainly not put the corn directly on the barbie. But -- this corn is delicious despite it's simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feliznavidad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Fantastic! I only soaked the corn for an hour but the brine really did add flavor. Next time I will leave it in longer. Added Old Bay to the butter/salt/pepper and I HIGHLY recommend this, it gives the corn a subtle something extra. Took this to a group function and it was a hit with all of the teenagers and their families. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States