Juicy Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
It is 'refreshing' (pardon the pun) to find a recipe suggestion that does not contain added sugar or fat in some form such as pie filling, syrup, cream cheese, sour cream etc. We are fortunate in North America to have access to so many fresh products! We should enjoy more of them au natural. Marianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
breasts go good with this dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I really liked this salad with its fresh and not overly sweet flavor. I made it exactly as the recipe called for except I used red grapes instead of green to add a touch of color. I, too, was a little confused about the reserved orange juice, so what I did was use two oranges...one for the segments in the salad and one just for the juice. The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because by the second day the bananas had started to brown a little and get mushy. It didn't affect the taste, but if I was making it for guests, I think I would skip the banana. Either that or serve it immediately rather than letting it marinate over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great recipee! Lots of compliments. We used real orange juice along with the canned pineapple juice(natural fruit juice cans, no added sugar)and added sliced strawberries, sliced pears, and blueberries. Refrigerating the night before was the icing on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made several changes based upon what I had in my pantry. I used two cans of Dole's Tropical Fruit Salad (reserving the liquid to prevent the bananas and apple from browning), one granny smith apple, three small bananas, 1/4 c. frozen blueberries (I didn't have grapes), one 15 oz. can of drained mandarin oranges (I didn't have fresh), and one 10 oz. jar of maraschino cherries, drained and rinsed (if you don't rinse the cherries, it will make the syrup a yucky artificial color). I put the reserved liquid from the tropical fruit salad in a glass bowl adding the sliced bananas and diced apples and let them marinate while I assembled the salad. First I drained the tropical fruit in one bowl and put the tropical fruit in another bowl. I cut the bananas and apples and added to the juice I then added the rinsed, halved cherries, frozen blueberries, and drained mandarin oranges to the tropical fruit bowl. Mix together and let the fresh fruit mix rest in the juices for a while then add to the canned fruit mix. Refrigerated for several hours. So simple and the fresh fruit really makes a difference. Everyone loved it and it keeps well so you can definitely make it a day ahead of your party or dinner which is what I did and will do in the future. Thanks for sharing a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I used 20 oz canned pineapple, 2 apples, 2-3 oranges, 2 bananas, and strawberries in place of grapes. Refrigerated for a few hours before serving. Huge hit! Everyone went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Easy and yummy. I did add a little sprinkle of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS! I followed this recipe exactly as written, but added 3 kiwi fruits. Refreshing , healthy and SO Yummy! Thank you for a new look on side dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was pretty good, but nothing special. I was unclear about what to do with the orange. Oranges don't give juice unless you squeeze them, and squeezed oranges don't typically go into fruit salads. I just ended up not squeezing the orange and chopping it up for the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Very simple fruit salad that's very easy to prepare. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, red grapes instead of green, and mardarin oranges along with the apple and banana. I toped off the glasses I served the fruit salad in with maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States