Juicy Butt Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is fantastic!! I made it just how the recipes said but I cooked it for about 4 hours. The meat was so tender if was falling right off the bone and practically melts in your mouth. The ketchup makes a wonderful sauce and the onions add great flavor. My family loved this, I think it will be a new favorite. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
My husband bought the meat, so I'm not sure what kind of cut I was using, but I think it was a pork shoulder blade steak. Whatever it was, 16oz of liquid was enough to cook it in. Rather than using a cup of ketchup, I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce, and mixed in about 1T brown sugar, 1T vinegar, 1/4t cinnamon, 1/4t dry mustard, a of pinch allspice, and a pinch of cloves. (Essentially a ketchup recipe, except with tomato sauce instead of tomato paste.) I then used the can to add 8oz water, put in the onion, and let it cook away. Every half hour or so I used a pair of tongs to rotate it. About three hours later I took out the meat, removed the fat and bone, tore the pork into chunks, and served with with the sauce over gnocchi. It was tender and flavorful, and quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!! my family loved these. They were sooooo tender and had a great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I made this and my family loved it! My husband usually doesnt like pork steaks but this time he said he loved it!! I let me cook for 4 hours and the meat was really tender and juicy! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbass505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Most delicious! It became a family favorite, the moment we tasted this juicy, tender meat and tasty sauce. We had left overs,they were even better than the day before. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
i made this back the first of june and for fathers day i asked my husband what he wanted and he said this again....now i have to make it every few weeks..it is very very good and very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. I used shoulder steaks instead of butt steaks, after 2 hours it was falling off the bones. Made cheesy mashed potatoes with it, turned out great. One of our new favorite recipes. Will definitely fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I posted this recipe a while ago....after reading everyone's reviews we decided to try cooking this in our crock pot. I had never thought about it before and would only make this when I was home for most of the day. It really worked out well. We cooked it for about 4 hours on low and then put it on high and cooked for another 2 and a half. It was tender and delish but I think it could have been a little more tender so next time I will cook on low all day about 8 to 10 hours. Everyone really loved it...even my mom who taught me how to make this thought the crock pot was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I did this in my crock pot. My husband usually doesn't like pork, but he loved this. He is part Filipino, and eats rice with everything, so I served it over a bed of jasmine rice- and I loved it too! Thanks for the recipe and everyone's great reviews that convinced me to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful! I didnt have 2 cups ketchup so I used about 1 cup along with Hoisin Sauce and a Chili Garlic Sauce that I originally found in a Vietnamese restaurant with about 1 - 1 1/2 c water. Cooked it for about 3 hours and it was wonderful. My husband said it was just so-so but I think he is crazy lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States