Juicy Butt Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I'm always trying to find a good recipe for pork steak since I always buy it on sale. This made the most tender tasty meat ever! My husband said the sauce was delicious and was shocked when I told him it was ketchup. I have even used this recipe to make shredded pork for sandwiches and mixed it with a little BBQ sauce before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was really good.My family loved it.I will definatly use this again,maybe alittle less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was excellent. I was a little skeptical about the ketchup, but it turned out to be just perfect. And the meat was so tender, it fell right off the bone. My husband didn't even wait for me to come home from work before he ate his! He said it was the best pork dinner he'd ever had. I'll definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
These were awesome! I can't believe how tender they were. We all loved them. Well, all except for my 6 year old son. I made him try it, which he liked but refused to eat because of the name. I didn't find out until after supper that he thought it was called, "Juicy butt STINKS!" ha ha. I wouldn't recomend telling children what they're called. Thanks for the great recipe. I wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Amazing - you'd never expect it to taste so good - my kids LOVE it (and they think the name of the recipe is funny too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I was hesitant to try this as well because of the ketchup and water but thought with so many good ratings it must be great. It was just ok for us. I did add some rosemary and thyme because we like them and it did have a nice flavor overall. I just wasn't crazy about all the sauce. It was very watery and overpowered with tomato flavor. My meat was thin and was falling apart at just 75 minutes even though I simmered it so I turned it off and we ate early. The meat was tender and the seasonings were good but overall it would have been better without all the watery tomato (and we like tomato, just not on our pork) If I had let the sauce cook down much longer so it was thicker and had more time to absorb the other flavors I think it would have been just fine. It was just too watery with 70-90 minutes cooking time. If your steaks are thin cut the water by half maybe or really cook it slow. I'm giving it 4 stars even though I probably wouldn't make it again. Nothing wrong with it but it didn't knock my socks off. My husband who hates sauces on meat said it was ok and ate it all. The kids liked the flavor of the sauce but not the meat (go figure) Overall, a decent easy to make meal but just not our cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSARAB

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I was skeptical of the ketchup/water sauce, but it turned out great. This was our New Year's dinner. We were out of the house most of the day so we cooked it in the crock pot on a high setting for about 6 hours(originally intended 4). Very tender, tasty and the the onions really complimented the dish. Served with collards and black eyed peas. Next time we'll serve with mashed potatoes or maybe gnocchi like one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I served this for dinner tonight and my college age son said, "Wow!" I used some Tastefully Simple Dried Tomato & Garlic Pesto instead of the garlic powder and salt and pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
A wonderful meal. I found that all the ingredients didn't seem to "meld" until about the last hour of cooking. So don't be worried! It's well worth it! So easy! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was soooo good. I followed the directions and cooked them for about 3 and a half hours. The meat was falling off the bone and practically melted in your mouth. I made it for my husbands birthday. I had most of the family over and everyone raved about it. My Dad's girlfriend couldn't believe it was boston butt steaks. They asked for the recipe and requested to take some home. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States