Juicy Butt Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. I used shoulder steaks instead of butt steaks, after 2 hours it was falling off the bones. Made cheesy mashed potatoes with it, turned out great. One of our new favorite recipes. Will definitely fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I posted this recipe a while ago....after reading everyone's reviews we decided to try cooking this in our crock pot. I had never thought about it before and would only make this when I was home for most of the day. It really worked out well. We cooked it for about 4 hours on low and then put it on high and cooked for another 2 and a half. It was tender and delish but I think it could have been a little more tender so next time I will cook on low all day about 8 to 10 hours. Everyone really loved it...even my mom who taught me how to make this thought the crock pot was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I did this in my crock pot. My husband usually doesn't like pork, but he loved this. He is part Filipino, and eats rice with everything, so I served it over a bed of jasmine rice- and I loved it too! Thanks for the recipe and everyone's great reviews that convinced me to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I wanted to do something different with the pork butt steaks I had on hand. I usually just sprinkle with Season All and bake or grill. Came across this recipe. Glad I did. The steaks came out amazingly tasty. I still sprinkled with Season All, baked at 350 for about 15-20 minutes. Then covered with sliced onion and a mixture of 1 cup Sweet Baby Rays and water (did not have ketchup). I continued to bake, uncovered, for another hour or so. The meat just fell apart. The onions were so good. Next time I will slice up about 3 onions. I basted the onions and exposed steak with the sauce a couple of times. My husband could not stop raving. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
My husband bought the meat, so I'm not sure what kind of cut I was using, but I think it was a pork shoulder blade steak. Whatever it was, 16oz of liquid was enough to cook it in. Rather than using a cup of ketchup, I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce, and mixed in about 1T brown sugar, 1T vinegar, 1/4t cinnamon, 1/4t dry mustard, a of pinch allspice, and a pinch of cloves. (Essentially a ketchup recipe, except with tomato sauce instead of tomato paste.) I then used the can to add 8oz water, put in the onion, and let it cook away. Every half hour or so I used a pair of tongs to rotate it. About three hours later I took out the meat, removed the fat and bone, tore the pork into chunks, and served with with the sauce over gnocchi. It was tender and flavorful, and quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was excellent. I was a little skeptical about the ketchup, but it turned out to be just perfect. And the meat was so tender, it fell right off the bone. My husband didn't even wait for me to come home from work before he ate his! He said it was the best pork dinner he'd ever had. I'll definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe! I will make again and again. I did make a couple adjustments. I do not like ketchup, so to tame the sweetness, I used 2 C ketchup, 1 C water, and 1 C strong brewed coffee. I also added minced garlic, ground red pepper, salt and pepper to the liquid before adding it to the meat. After simmering 3 hours, the meat was just as tender as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is fantastic!! I made it just how the recipes said but I cooked it for about 4 hours. The meat was so tender if was falling right off the bone and practically melts in your mouth. The ketchup makes a wonderful sauce and the onions add great flavor. My family loved this, I think it will be a new favorite. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
These were awesome! I can't believe how tender they were. We all loved them. Well, all except for my 6 year old son. I made him try it, which he liked but refused to eat because of the name. I didn't find out until after supper that he thought it was called, "Juicy butt STINKS!" ha ha. I wouldn't recomend telling children what they're called. Thanks for the great recipe. I wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I was skeptical of the ketchup/water sauce, but it turned out great. This was our New Year's dinner. We were out of the house most of the day so we cooked it in the crock pot on a high setting for about 6 hours(originally intended 4). Very tender, tasty and the the onions really complimented the dish. Served with collards and black eyed peas. Next time we'll serve with mashed potatoes or maybe gnocchi like one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States