Juicy Butt Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was awesome. Except for Ketchup I used BBQ Sauce :) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good, I used 1/2 the amounts for ketchup and water and there was still too much sauce! But I cooked this in a tightly sealed dutch oven, so there was no moisture loss. I think this recipe would adapt well to a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pressurecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I wanted to do something different with the pork butt steaks I had on hand. I usually just sprinkle with Season All and bake or grill. Came across this recipe. Glad I did. The steaks came out amazingly tasty. I still sprinkled with Season All, baked at 350 for about 15-20 minutes. Then covered with sliced onion and a mixture of 1 cup Sweet Baby Rays and water (did not have ketchup). I continued to bake, uncovered, for another hour or so. The meat just fell apart. The onions were so good. Next time I will slice up about 3 onions. I basted the onions and exposed steak with the sauce a couple of times. My husband could not stop raving. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Very easy. I love the idea of using a crockpot so I'll do that next time. My very picky husband was very skeptical at first but he gobbled it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe! I will make again and again. I did make a couple adjustments. I do not like ketchup, so to tame the sweetness, I used 2 C ketchup, 1 C water, and 1 C strong brewed coffee. I also added minced garlic, ground red pepper, salt and pepper to the liquid before adding it to the meat. After simmering 3 hours, the meat was just as tender as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I had never cooked a boston butt before and this turned out great! I had never heard them referred to as "steaks" before.. but this is what I did: Cut the huge chunk of meat (about 2.25 lbs) into about 5-6 chunks, seasoned them, and seared them in a pan. I added them to a crockpot set on low as they finished. I sliced the onion and sauted it in the pan and once they were slightly turning translucent, I added the ketchup mix. Let it come to a simmer, added it to the crockpot. I let it cook on low for 1 hour, cut it up to high for 2, then back to low for 2. WOW!! Sooo good to me!! And it was so tender, we could hardly pick each piece up with tongs, it would start to fall apart. I think cutting it up helped it get so tender without having to leave it in for 8-10 hours. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Awesome! Definately make more than 2 steaks next time. Super yum=. The sugars in the ketsup carmelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
We love this very easy but also very good dinner..My kids hate tough meat so it is always wonderful to find a meal they cant get enough of. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. Super easy and the result was delicious~! I made it with rice, au gratin potatoes and brocoli. The meat was so tender, the kids loved it. I will definately make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was melt in your mouth delicious and oh so easy. I cooked the pork in the crockpot on low for 8 hours and it just fell off the bone. The only substitution I made was minced garlic in lieu of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States