Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
The flavor combination is superb. However, I upped my pretzels to just over 2 cups (as suggested in some reviews), but it was still nowhere near enough. I'll probably do closer to 4 cups next time. I used a standard 9x13 as called for, but was rather disappointed at the scant amount of pretzel once it all came together. Also, after chilling for 6 hours, my jello mixture still isn't set. It's thickened but still far too soupy to count as a gelatin layer. I read other reviews suggesting that you reduce the amount of boiling water by how much liquid your strawberries are sitting in so that there isn't too much water for the jello to set up. I did this. Still didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I did this recipe for a potluck at work and it was a great smash I made two and before I could get any it was gone I asked my co-workers what they thought and they said it was great but a little salty on the base the next time I made it I did the lite cream cheese and lite whipped topping but made the base out of salt free pretzels and they enjoyed it much better I have given this recipe out every time I make it so I just run off a dozen copies and give them out very easy to make and when I did get some it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Yummy! One of my favorites. I used fresh strawberries and doubled the amount of Jello. Make sure you spread the cream cheese layer all the way to the corners/edge of the pan or the jello mixture will seep down into the crust and get a little mushy. It helps to refridgerate the crust and cream cheese layer over night, before adding the jello layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
So good! I made this for 4th of July and everyone at our cookout was in love. They ate every last crumb. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This dessert is a winner. I did make a few adjustments. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, whick made for a very tasty crust. I would advise using more pretzel ingredients if you like a thicker crust...I did. I also added a little vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and agave nectar instead of white sugar...delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was great!! I followed others advice to let the jello set up some and I had no problem with it seeping into the cream cheese layer- it actually kinda seemed to slip off the cream cheese layer when I cut it but it didn't matter, taste definitely ruled over that problem. I also used fresh strawberries and light cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
You need to add 1/2 cup chopped pecans to the pretzels. Can't beat toasted pecans & pretzels together. I've seen other versions that have the pecans. However I tried it has written and it was very good, but would be even better with the pecans. Also needed more strawberries in the topping. Still, of course it is more of a dessert than a salad. It's become our favorite for 4th of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Very easy to make & pleasant to eat in the hot summer months. Pulsed pretzels in food processor so they mere not overly ground. Subbed Splenda for sugar in crust & cream cheese mix. Cooked crust 10 minutes then let it cool in fridge. Spread cream cheese mix on cooled crust, then stuck back in fridge. Made fruit topping with sugar free Jello & previously frozen fresh strawberries I had on hand. Let fruit topping cool in fridge for one hour, then spread over crust with cream cheese layer & kept chilled until serving. Hubs had three helpings, so that is my affirmation that it is a keeper recipe. Thanks Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 962) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States