Juanita's Blackberry Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I make this every summer we have fresh blackberries but you can also use frozen. To save time I make the recipe for dumplings on the Bisquick box. Much faster and tastes very good. Try it served with vanilla ice cream. It's a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I didn't have blackberries, so I used frozen blueberries and because I like thicker sauces, I also added some cornstarch, but otherwise everything else I left the same. We loved it, but it was a bit too sweet, so next time I make it, I will add less sugar. Thank-you Charlo and Charlo's Mom for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
My grandmother made these for me when I was just a pup. When I went into the Army, she'd make them for me special when I was home on leave. That's been almost 50 years ago and I still can taste her dumpling when I close my eyes. Juanita's recipe is as close to my grandmother's as I've had in years. Thanks Juanita. They're fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I'm SO glad to see a 'generational' recipe. True Treasures! My Father, used to make something very similar, using black cherries in it's juice, [I don't know how he preserved the cherries to make the juice] and he made dough with flour,salt,water, rolled out, and cut into strips about 2'' long/1" wide. Somthing he made when a young man in Ukraine. My Fathers' Mother passed away when he was 2 years old, and he and his siblings also had to be very creative to feed the family! I love these kinds of recipes. God Bless them all! Thank you Charlo, for posting your Mothers' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I lost my mother's recipe years ago and this is exactly like the ones she use to make! She cut strips or squares instead of the round balls of dough. Thank you Juanita! This sure brought back some great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Juanita my grandmother was also from So. Mo. and she made these all the time. I think it was a regional recipe as the only people I find that have heard of them are from that area. These are just like grandma used to make! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetotravel
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This recipe was really easy and I will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Like eating strips of blackberry pie. MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.H. Wiggle;P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
These sound delicious Juanita. We were from the southern WV coalfields and my mother made something similar. For the longest time, I thought that was what people called cobbler. When I retired, I wanted to do some cooking and started looking for a "cobbler" recipe but as you can imagine, they were radically different. But I tried them too! It was then I saw people refer to what I was calling cobbler as dumplings. Some guys are just slow huh? But thanks again for the recipe, I'm gonna try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I chose this based on the rave reviews. It's good, but like eating chunks of pie crust in syrup, not like a fluffy dumpling. All that shortening equals a heavy taste. Good, very filling, and easier to make and serve than a blackberry pie, but if you're thinking light and fluffy, move on. Also, I used fresh berries that were on the sour side, and 1.75C of sugar was still a little too much, as was a whole 1t of salt. Definitely follow the instructions to add sugar "to taste."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States