Joy's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Easy and good...doesn't get any better then that. I did use salsa instead of ketchup, and half sour cream and salad dressing. To lower the fat and calorie content I used fat free salad dressing, sour cream and tortilla chips. My family could not tell the difference and the salad still rocked!! Thank you, Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I used a red french dressing for this...have no idea why, just thought it might be good...and it was. I really liked this. Although I do agree with another reviewer that it doesn't have great stage presence, of course that could be from my red dressing. It was very good and everyone who tried it wanted the recipe. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Joy has reinvented the taco salad with this yummy dressing! This easy dinner becomes a next day follow up too! I chop it fine for a salad the first night...then the next day after everything has melded overnight it becomes a tasty lunch with Fritos to scoop it up with (dip like!) Thanks Joy! Always nice to have something new to rotate into my menu for dinner!!! A+ and then some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Very tasty. I would like to try the dressing using sour cream instead of mayonnaise, but this versions was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
The recipie was good, but I would make less next time, alot went to waste because iceberg lettuce does not last that long...we also put the sauce on as needed on the individual plates as not to make the salad soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I would use more meat next time I made this recipe. I would also use taco sauce in place of the ketchup. Otherwise very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This is a wonderful salad. I made it for an office party, and it yields a lot more than Joy would make you think. Ironically, it is so large that I was not able to toss the salad in the largest bowl I own. I didn't read Joy's comment until just now, but what I did was toss the salad in a garbage bag. It worked like a charm. The reviews I got on the salad were wonderful, and I told everyone at work where to find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This made for a tasty and filling lunch. I used half sour cream half mayo, and like others sub'd salsa for the ketchup in the dressing. One bag of chips was sufficient. We don't care for chickpeas so I used frozen whole kernel corn instead. Beautiful presentation, too. Thanks Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I loved this recipe. I served it for a family get-together and everyone loved it, too. A suggestion that I have is to half the salad dressing, ketchup, taco seasoning mixture. It would have been far too much if I had used all the dressing. I highly recommend making this salad -- you won't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
The first taco salad I've ever made. Loved it! Left out squash cause it's not a favorite at our house. But I think it still would have been good with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States