Joy's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I am in the middle of making it right now, it is looking so so good. Am I reading this right that it is to be served cold? Not sure how my kids will feel about cold ground beef and unmelted cheese. But then again can't see heating up sour cream and mayo either. If anyone can respond, I'd appreciate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella paisana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
A friend brought this to work recently for a potluck and it was gone faster than anything else on the table. When I asked for the recipe I was surprised at the ingredients as I would never have thought of salad dressing and ketchup in taco salad. Don't be put off by that though. This dish is incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was a delicious recipe!!! The only thing we changed was to add a little bit of skim milk to the dressing and a little bit more taco seasoning to the dressing. Great veggies though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Eat as salsa with chips. Dressing great made with yogurt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
So good; even the leftovers were great. we just saved extra chips to add the next day so they didnt get too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preacher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Wonderful! I sauteeed the peppers, and changed the dressing as one reveiwer suggested. 1.5 cups light sour cream, about 1/3 cup ketchup, and a taco seasoning mix from this site. I loved this, and so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I don't know what I was expecting, but we thought this was just ok. The dressing was a little bit peculiar, and the meat was pretty boring. Some cumin and lime juice would probably have helped. Oh well, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I'd recommend using Fritos instead of tortilla chips, they're SO good in this! We didn't care for how the dressing tasted (too sour from the Miracle Whip) so we did another batch with only 2 tbsp of Miracle Whip, not as much ketchup, 1 1/2 cups of light sour cream, and a little bit of regular mayo (1-2 tbsp) and then the taco seasoning, and mmmmmmmm was that good!!! I don't remember if the recipe calls for them, but I added black olives on top, which were fantastic in this! Definitely a great family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This is good. Made it exactly like the recipe said. I really liked the dressing. It was nice to use items that I always have at home to make it. For me that is what pushed this recipe to a five. Next time I will add a few more spices to the dressing to give it an extra zing. This is a great recipe for a crowd it makes tons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States