Joy's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
It was a hit! I made it to for a potluck using the salad dressing/sour cream/taco sauce idea for the dressing. I also had cans of black beans and corn in my pantry, so substituted those for the kidneys and garbanzos. It made a huge batch and we didn't have to bring much home, and several people asked me for the recipe. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Joy has reinvented the taco salad with this yummy dressing! This easy dinner becomes a next day follow up too! I chop it fine for a salad the first night...then the next day after everything has melded overnight it becomes a tasty lunch with Fritos to scoop it up with (dip like!) Thanks Joy! Always nice to have something new to rotate into my menu for dinner!!! A+ and then some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I can't give this recipe 5 stars b/c it does not look very appetizing when it's all done and in the bowl, But for those who did try it they all loved it and went back for seconds and even thirds but alot of poeple didn't even try it so I did have alot left over... Maybe for a simple BBQ or party I would make this again but for a larger, nicer party it wasn't very appealing to the eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I loved this recipe. I served it for a family get-together and everyone loved it, too. A suggestion that I have is to half the salad dressing, ketchup, taco seasoning mixture. It would have been far too much if I had used all the dressing. I highly recommend making this salad -- you won't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Awesome! I read some of the other reviews, so I used 1 cup salad dressing, 1 cup sour cream, and instead of ketchup, I used taco sauce. This dish was a great addition to our barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
The recipie was good, but I would make less next time, alot went to waste because iceberg lettuce does not last that long...we also put the sauce on as needed on the individual plates as not to make the salad soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
GREAT salad... I also used salsa in place of the ketchup and half sour cream, half mayo, and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Easy and good...doesn't get any better then that. I did use salsa instead of ketchup, and half sour cream and salad dressing. To lower the fat and calorie content I used fat free salad dressing, sour cream and tortilla chips. My family could not tell the difference and the salad still rocked!! Thank you, Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This made for a tasty and filling lunch. I used half sour cream half mayo, and like others sub'd salsa for the ketchup in the dressing. One bag of chips was sufficient. We don't care for chickpeas so I used frozen whole kernel corn instead. Beautiful presentation, too. Thanks Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Very tasty. I would like to try the dressing using sour cream instead of mayonnaise, but this versions was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States