Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Very yummy recipe! It's a keeper. Prepare the pudding mix according to package directions though before folding in the whip topping and sour cream. The recipe didn't state that. I soaked my bananas in the pineapple juice, but didn't use the crushed pineapple in the trifle. Instead, I just used fresh strawberries, fresh raspberries and blueberries, and the pineapple-soaked bananas. Garnished with the reserved fruits and a light dusting of cocoa powder. I used just 1 9" angel food cake, but I think the next time around I will use 2 angel food cakes for more heartiness. Other than that, this dessert was fabulous! No leftovers. The creamed topping is simply delicious. I suggest assembling and keeping the trifle in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours to let the flavors develop before serving. The whipped mixture will seep into the layers of the fruits and meld with everything. My husband showed off my creation to our guests, as I had served it in a trifle pedestal bowl. It not only looked gorgeous, but it tasted just as awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUIW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Very Good. However, definitely make the pudding according to the package and then fold into cool whip & sour cream. Otherwise, it is entirely too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This turned out to be absolutely delicious. I made a few mods. 1) I used chocolate angel food cake that I made from a recipe off this site. I highly recommend this as an alternative to plain angel food. 2) As recommended by other reviewers I soaked my banana slices in pineappIe juice and prepared cheesecake pudding (excellent with the choco cake) before mixing it with the whipped cream (I basically just moistened it with heavy whipping cream and almond breeze milk b/c it's all that I had on hand.) 3.) I cubed the cake instead of slicing. This made layering a little bit easier for me. It was enormously well-received and furthermore, is a great base for experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
I made this recipe for the first time for a dessert buffet for my child's junior high teachers. I made it the night before and it turned out beautiful and delicious. I used strawberries and blueberries for one fruit layer and the bananas and pineapple for the other. I mixed the (vanilla) pudding with 1 cup of milk before blending with sour cream and whipped topping. The texture was very creamy but not runny -- perfect. I also soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice as recommended and squirted a little lemon juice into the juice for extra protection against browning. Used "store-bought" angel cake. It was simple and delicious. I'm making it again soon for a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
YUMMY! Like some other's suggested, we used the Cheesecake Pudding instead of vanilla. When preparing the pudding, I used 3/4 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of raspberry liqueur then added the sour cream and cool whip as instructed. WOW! Will be serving this at our annual holiday progressive dinner. After eating all day, you need a light dessert and this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Truly Custom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I took this trifle to my daughter's preschool for a Mother's Day party and everyone loved it! Here's a tip for the bananas - don't throw out the pineapple juice. Soak the sliced bananas in the juice (I left mine for an hour while I ran to school) and they won't turn brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I made this for Valentine's day and it was delicious! My boyfriend was totally impressed. However, there is one caveat; be careful when you fold the pudding and sour cream into the whipped topping. Do not mix it excessively because it will get too liquidy and will drip on the sides . This happened to me the first time I made it and it ruined the beautifully layered look. So I immediately ran back to the store and made it again. I put the whipped topping/pudding mix into the frfeezer to chill for a few minutes so it wouldn' drip this time. It was well worth it though. For those of you who made it for a party: how did you manage for the whipped topping to not melt in the sides?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This is a hit wherever I take it. I recommended mixing some milk with the pudding before adding the other ingredients to it. Also, saving the juice from the pineapple and soaking the bananas in it helps them from turning brown as quickly. I cubed the cake instead of slicing it into 3 pieces. Excellent summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Question: by "pudding mix" do you mean to fold the powder into the creams or to make the pudding and then fold into the other creams? personally, i don't like angel cake much, so i used yellow-cake mix. i actually added milk to the pudding mix before folding it in, but still turned out yummy (if it is in fact the wrong way). also added lots of other fruits - mandarine orange slices (canned), blueberries, raspberries, peach slices (canned). Drizzled the cake layer with syrup from the mandarin oranges. No banana or pineapple. everyone loved it - as long as you decorate the top beautifully, it looks impressive and difficult :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
What a great cool summer dessert! I was looking for something for just me and my husband, so I didn't make the whole trifle--I halfed the recipe and refrigerated what we didn't eat right away. The whipped topping mixture is a delicious fruit dip for quick snacks throughout the day, and it's super-healthy if you make it like I did. I used fat-free sour cream and fat-free Cool Whip, and it was heavenly! Thanks, Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States