Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Kaypasa750
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was really really good. I did make a few modifications as others suggested. I doubled the pudding, sour cream and whipped cream mixture. I added 1 and a half cups of milk to the two boxes of pudding mix prior to adding to sour cream and whipped cream - it came out perfect. I also cubed the angel food cake - it was just easier to layer but drizzled a little Jack Daniel's honey liqueur onto each layer - yum. I'm not a expert cook by any means, but this made me look like I was. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious!!! This dish doesn't leave leftovers--too good! I followed the tips on soaking the bananas in the pineapple juice, and preparing the pudding mix. Absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made this for christmas dinner desert and it was amazing. For those that are confused about the pudding the recipe said to add the "unprepared pudding mix" to the whipped topping. I am making this again today for a dinner party i'm going to tomorrow !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Love this! Made it for my in-laws huge gathering at Thanksgiving, it was impressive in flavor and appearance, and not so syrupy sweet as the other desserts. I'm allergic to pinapple so I layered Fredricksburg peaches I had frozen last summer and a frozen berry mix- blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. As the fruit melted, the juices soaked the angel food cake, oh, it was good! I love the whipped topping, I also use it on chocolate cake with a cherry pie filling topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Very pretty & very good! I may have added more blueberries & strawberries throughout the center of the Trifle but otherwise it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
YUMMY! And so easy/quick to make. I love trifles and this was was perfectly light and refreshing while still being smooth and rich.... if that makes any sense. :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
What a beautiful and flavorful light dessert! I did take the advice of others and made the vanilla pudding mix into pudding with about 1 c of half and half mixed with 1 c non-fat milk. (This was with the larger box of pudding mix, so I just used about 2/3 of the pudding.) I think once you get the consistency of the pudding the way you like it, the recipe is pretty foolproof, although I did follow the rest of her directions. I cut 3 horizontal pieces of the cake horizontally, but did score them into smaller pieces as I thought they might be easier to eat that way. Anyway, it was yummy and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S_Samman
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
JUST PERFECT! I added 6 tablespoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of the pudding mix and it was "AH"mazing! we finished it in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_Samman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Absolutely the best tasting, easy-to-make dessert I have tried from this site. Recipe great as is . . . family keeps asking that I prepare this again on holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I doubled the cream filling... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brutusbc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States