Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Very good for the summer, nice and lite, but a little more tangy than I usually like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Light and lovely dessert! I made the angel cake, but would prefer to buy it made if i make it again. I cooked the pudding as the many reviews suggested and I'm sure that's the proper way to make this. I do suggest adding half of the pudding to the sour cream and cool whip mix, try how it tastes and slowly add more pudding to get a taste that you like the best. I added all of the pudding and i didnt like that the tartness of the sour cream was diluted by all off the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vani166

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is such a simple, yet delicious recipe. Like most reviewers, I make the instant vanilla pudding according to the directions on the box, then fold it into the sour cream and whipped topping. I find almost any fruits work with this recipe. Today I used bananas, blueberries, strawberries, and canned peach slices. I also soak my banana slices in pineapple juice, but do not use pineapple. Lastly, I pour quality Sherry onto the cake as I layer it. The recipe is best made the day BEFORE serving as that gives it time for the flavours to come together and for the cake to soak up the sherry, fruit flavours, and the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsG

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a HUGE hit at a family potluck. Only thing I did different was that I made the pudding as directed on box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is a very deliciously flavored trifle but I have to admit, I would have appreciated it to be a little less "runny" and more light 'n fluffy. Next time I'm probably going to cut the pudding in half and see if that lightens it up. Also for next time I'm going to try using pound cake instead of angel food because I think it would give it more substance than the angel did. It soaked up all of the moisture and got too soggy in spots. Great base recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Joy, you've got a winner! Everyone at our recent housewarming party loved it. I used cheesecake pudding mix (made as directed on the box) with a little splash of vanilla. I also did what others suggested and soaked the banana slices in the pineapple juice. This was so delicious and pretty. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made it for the first time.Absolute winner!! very simple and easy to make.You cannot go wrong as there's no baking involved.The only different thing I did was I made the Vanilla pudding as per recipe on back of box and then added the sour cream and folded in the whipped cream.Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have made this several times now and believe this is a very solid triffle recipe. Lately I have been using real whipped cream instead of the coolwhip with even better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Everyone loved this. It is light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krustimeatball
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
So easy and delicious! I too made the pudding and then added in the sour cream and cool-whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States