Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Ev's Corner
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I tried this with my 14 yr old granddaughter. It was definitely a winner. The presentation was amazing and it tasted every bit as good as it looked. I prepared a little too much fruit but threw it all in anyway. It would make an awesome impression in a "I'll bring the desert" situation. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ev's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Excellent dessert to serve to any crowd. Nice and light and fruity which is always a crowd pleaser!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I love this recipe. I like to add a bit of milk with the pudding mix before adding it to the sour cream and whipped topping, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was so good! I added layers of cheesecake flavored pudding as well. The different fruits gave it a great flavor, and the angel food cake was nice and lite to compliment the sour cream/whipped topping mixture. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I made this for a church group dinner and it went fast. Everyone raved over it and asked for the recipe. There were no leftovers! Thanks for sharing! Update: Different bowls are different sizes. I have one from pampered chef which is a 1/3 smaller than my other bowl. To deal with this, I broke up the angel food and followed with layers. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My family loves this. I have made a few times, usually just as the recipe states, sometimes substituting other fruits and it is always a winner. I try not to let it sit too long as it sometimes gets a little mushy, but that is generally not a problem since people eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
So, so good and practically fool proof. Do prepare the jello per the box before adding to the recipe. Too dry otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I liked it. I prepared the pudding before like other reviewers suggested, but I was confused about how to assemble it based on the instructions vs. the picutre. Anyway, it was good but not tremendously so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this recipe for company. I followed the directions to the "T" and I have to say I was very disappointed. The pudding mixture was very dry and difficult to spread over the cake pieces. Next time I will definitely do one of two things. 1.)I may prepare the pudding according to package directions before combing it with the cool whip and sour cream. Or, 2.) I may drain the pineapple juice in with the dry pudding, cool whip, and sour cream. Another thing I would try is slicing your strawberried up beforehand, then sprinkle with sugar or Splenda, and allow them to juice up. The layers didn't meld together and was quite disappointing. This recipe has a great base....just needs to be tweeked a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this recipe for a party tonight. It was a success. I made it for a cookout this past weekend and it was not eaten. The first time I made it with yellow cake mix. I don't think I put enough berries in it. Also the guys wouldn't touch berries. The trifle I made tonight had angel food cake and I used more berries and bananas and pineapple chunks. I also used Cheesecake pudding with 1 cup of milk like others suggested and without it, I would not have had enough filling. I also did not use kiwi. I used blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, blackberries, bananas and canned pineapple. Do soak your bananas with the pineapple juice. This is kind of of expensive to make this time of year with the berries, but very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States