Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I liked it. I prepared the pudding before like other reviewers suggested, but I was confused about how to assemble it based on the instructions vs. the picutre. Anyway, it was good but not tremendously so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this recipe for company. I followed the directions to the "T" and I have to say I was very disappointed. The pudding mixture was very dry and difficult to spread over the cake pieces. Next time I will definitely do one of two things. 1.)I may prepare the pudding according to package directions before combing it with the cool whip and sour cream. Or, 2.) I may drain the pineapple juice in with the dry pudding, cool whip, and sour cream. Another thing I would try is slicing your strawberried up beforehand, then sprinkle with sugar or Splenda, and allow them to juice up. The layers didn't meld together and was quite disappointing. This recipe has a great base....just needs to be tweeked a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this recipe for a party tonight. It was a success. I made it for a cookout this past weekend and it was not eaten. The first time I made it with yellow cake mix. I don't think I put enough berries in it. Also the guys wouldn't touch berries. The trifle I made tonight had angel food cake and I used more berries and bananas and pineapple chunks. I also used Cheesecake pudding with 1 cup of milk like others suggested and without it, I would not have had enough filling. I also did not use kiwi. I used blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, blackberries, bananas and canned pineapple. Do soak your bananas with the pineapple juice. This is kind of of expensive to make this time of year with the berries, but very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristina
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I Made this for our Easter dessert. It was a huge hit! Very easy and good. I couldn't find ant descent kiwis so I had to leave them off. I also used cheese cake pudding in stead of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
made this for Easter and everyone loved it! would definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I had never made trifle before and wanted to reason to make one since I had bought a trifle bowl, and I am SO glad I picked this one!! The pudding mixture was so yummy!!! I didn't use kiwi (didn't have any), and don't really care for pound cake or angel food cake (as others suggested), so I used good ol' Nillas instead of cake, and it turned out really, really good. Presentation was pretty and taste was great!! Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pilgrimchick210

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I was uncertain about trying this as I had never made a trifle before. It was a breeze. Delicious and looked great. I was concerned about how it would serve out of the bowl because the angel food cake was not torn into pieces but it was not a problem at all. Loved it. It had a real WOW factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Delicious! I made this for Easter in the morning and let it sit until dinner, and everyone loved it. I used only strawberries for fruit, cubed the angel food cake and added a little less then a cup of milk to the dry vanilla pudding mix. Beautiful presentation. I made my own real whipped cream, can't stand the taste of Cool Whip. This dessert was not to sweet, just perfect. Was eaten in no time at all, too bad no leftovers. This has already been requested for the next family gathering. YUMMY! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
A lovely trifle that is not too time consuming to make and can (should) be made ahead. I layered somewhat differently and used cubed cake, as some other reviewers did. I also added I cup of milk to the pudding before incorporating it into the cream and used real whipping cream (whipped and sweetened) instead of whipped topping, as I don't like whipped topping. Thanks for the super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States