Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Awesome! We had a fry night at our house, and this was the perfect finish. It's easy to make, is pretty, and is very scrumptious. I recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Excellent. I did by the cook and serve vanilla pudding and made it and let it cool before folding in the sour cream and whipped cream. I also soaked the sliced bananas in the pineapple juice. I did not use the pineapple or kiwi, I used one container of fresh strawberries, one container of blueberries and one container of raspberries and then I used 3 bananas, soaked in pineapple juice. It was excellent. Actually very light, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiebaker520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
It was a HIT at my Christmas Party. The bakery was out of angel food cake, so I made a pound cake and cubed it...it worked wonderfully and everyone was pleased. TIP: Not so hot the next day...indulge and eat it that night if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe as is. Sometimes I use cheesecake flavored jello instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this in the summer for a barbeque with friends and it disappeared in a snap! Then I brought it to dinner at my in-laws and got rave reviews. Definitely a crowd pleaser and super simple :) Thanks Joy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent, need I say more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by kitchenkathy
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This make look like a fuss to make, it is NOT! It is such a beautiful dessert (especially at the holidays). It is so delicious and I think very easy to make. This is a hit! I prefer the angel food cake, but I think you could use pound cake if you don't like angel food. I make the pudding according to the directions on the box (I do NOT use it dry). You will be able to tell when something is too wet or too dry. Trust me, it is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Great recipe. The only thing I would change is that I'd mix the pudding with milk like one of the reviewers suggested...or maybe sift the pudding mix. It was a little chunky, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Beautiful presentation and tastes even better the next day. Big warning to other newbies like me - I used Drambuie based on someone's recommendation to add raspberry liqueur. This turned my beautiful creation into the color of warm gray death. Tasted ok but had to start over since this was intended for a party. No leftovers at the end of the night. Sour cream makes this dish. I also soaked the banana in the pineapple juice as suggested and used fresh berries (strawberries, blueberries and raspberries). Fantastic and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great! This is easy for trifle beginners like me. The only hard part is finding a large enough glass bowl. I used a deep angel food cake in a bunt shape and cut it roughly into palm sized pieces. This is a recipe that can easily go low or no fat - modify the whipped cream, sour cream, and pudding. Keep the sour cream in, though, as it adds weight and cuts the straight sweet flavor to make it more enjoyable. If you don't like these fruits or want to add others feel free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States