Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excellent!!! Definitely a keeper! Made it exactly to the recipe and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this dessert when company came over and everyone seemed to like it. It was nice because it wasn't too sweet and it was relatively guilt free since I used low fat whipped cream, sour cream and angel food cake is already pretty good for you. I followed other's advice and soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice. However, I wish that I had used fresh pineapple instead of canned. It added an odd texture and nothing can compete with the taste of fresh pineapple. Next time, I'll try changing up the fruit and will probably add lots of berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My family just loved this recipe, the only change that I made was I made the pudding according to directions and used cream cheese instead of sour cream and blended it in. My wife said its the best desert she ever had. Thanks Joy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Everyone I served it to loved it! It got rave reviews! I made it gluten free using a gluten free cake mix. I think it would turn out great with whatever kind of cake you want to use in it. I made the pudding using 1 cup of milk and immediately mixed that with the sour cream and cool whip. I soaked my bananas in pineapple juice as other reviewers had suggested but didn't use the crushed pineapple. I added frozen blueberries to the strawberry layer and these were really good in it. We all enjoyed the leftovers as much the 2nd day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Vezeau
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this for a work potluck. Was gone in minutes. I used 1.5 boxes of the pudding and mixed using pudding directions for one box. Consistency came out perfect with the sour cream and cool whip added. I did incorporate the pineapple and used the juice to soak the bananas in while I was getting everything else ready. Otherwise, I did the recipe as directed other than the pudding mixing with milk and using more to make the right consistency. I finished the top of by piping some of the left over cool whip to make a nice border around the bowl. Perfect combination of fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Vezeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was a hit, guests were smitten by how pretty it was! SO easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
MMmm, made this tonight and it was nice and easy. The only time consuming part was cutting the fruit-which wasn't that bad. The cream filling was a little on the sweet side as you continued eating it. I definitely be making this for the next potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
We attended a St. Patty's day party so I used Pistachio pudding and substituted Plain fat free Greek Yogurt in place of the sour cream to make it a bit healthier. Everyone LOVED it and couldn't believe it was basically a fat free dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
execellent best tasting trifle i`ve had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyRJ
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Really nice to sit down to after a suuuper long day of cooking! I really enjoy how it wasn't overly sweet, and it had a nice, airy, fruity taste :) allll of the kids loved it. It was gone in under 2 minutes, and everybody said: "That was one of the best desserts I've ever had!!" My boyfriend chose French Vanilla pudding and we also prepared it before folding it in, which I would highly recommend. Thank youuu, Ms. Joy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States