Joy's Prizewinning Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by iluv2cook!
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Needed 4 kiwis Prep pudding accd to directions on box first Soak bananas in pineapple juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M.C.
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Delicious!!! I made this for our family NYE dinner and everybody loved it. It's not too sweet either. Make the pudding before mixing in with the cool whip and sour cream. I tweaked it by using lemon pudding instead of the vanilla pudding, I think this made it better it complimented the fruit better in my opinion.I also used 2 1/2 of angel food cake to give it more consistency. This made it easier to cut into. It's delicious and easy the part that's time consuming is cutting up the fruit. I also added blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debbsd
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was a hit! I used 75% of vanilla pudding because it was so sweet. Next time, I would eliminate pudding. The whip cream & sour cream taste fantastic on its own. Also, had chopped walnuts available. This recipe is easy & is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbsd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I found the directions lacking.After reading some of the reviews, I opted to make the pudding, then folded it in with the coolwhip & sour cream. I added some "Let's go organic "unsweetened grated coconut (Publix supermarket) because I needed to use it up. By the way, this coconut is the closest to fresh coconut I've ever had. I grew up in Florida, so I know my tropical fruits! Drained most of the pineapple juice. I think Tidbits would have been better than crushed. This was put together 4 hours before serving. I was not impressed. Found it to be too bland. Too much "fluff" , and did not care for the angel food cake. Moist pound cake or yellow would be my choice. Had some leftovers 2days later and it was much better, So I think this should be made at least 24 hrs. ahead. I would try this again in a tropical mode: pineapple, mandarin oranges, bananas, coconut, mango. Would be great in summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made a few changes based on personal taste (removed bananas and sour cream, added blueberries; changed vanilla pudding to cheesecake pudding and angel food cake to yellow cake).This was my family's first Xmas celebration since my dad died in January 2013 so I wanted everything to be perfect. My mom was BLOWN AWAY and raved to her coworkers about how beautiful AND delicious it was. My first sincere compliment about my cooking from my mom LOL. Thanks Joy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Paco loved it, but i thought it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe was delicious. We don't have dairy whip here in Australia but whipped cream instead. Years ago we were able to get dairy whip and I wish we still could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I've not tried this recipe yet. Is there anyone out there that has made this WITHOUT using angelfood cake? For those of us that don't like it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I am from the UK and this trifle is nothing like the real trifle made with jello, real fruit, custard powder. None of this sour cream and imitation cream junk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
What a beautiful recipe to share at over caloried Christmas time! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States