Josh's Four-Way Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I'm giving it five stars because it was terrific chili but I would give it 3 for the directions. Maybe it is just me since no one else complained. I cut the recipe in half therefore it called for only 1 can of Stewed Tomatoes. This needed a lot more than 1 can. I am wondering if Josh meant for us to also follow the directions of the chili seasoning and use those liquids. In any event, I ended up using a jar of salsa too. What we really liked was the combination of the beef and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is just a great recipe. We all loved the layering of chili, crackers, pasta and cheese. Sounds kind of yucky but is actually awesome. Like reviewer "Aspiring Chef Rita" I thought it needed more liquid. I added one more can of tomatoes (used Rotel with peppers, mild) and still wanted more, so dumped in the 1/2 container I had on hand of fresh salsa. I also did not drain the tomatoes or beans in order to have the liquid. Then it needed a little more spice, so I just sprinkled in some additional chili pepper. One note...I just picked up pinto beans, per the instructions. I ended up with light colored beans. I didn't think this was as pretty as a result. Go with the dark red beans for appearance. Yummy Josh, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
My wife and I made this last night. I made it with hamburger only, and used hot salsa & hot chili seasoning. We liked it a lot and will definately be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I won first place at my chili cookoff w/ this receipe. My family loves it and so do my co-workers. I used Rotel original diced tomatoes (2 cans) rather than stewed tomatoes - make less chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is just great comfort food, but you just CAN'T have it without Fritos! Skip the lame ol' crackers and slap some fritos on this bad boy! Here's how i do it: Pasta, chili, cheese, diced white onion, then fritos....mmmmm.....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unturnedstones
Home Town: Carthage, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I'm giving this five stars just because it's a recipe that my family has made since I was little (and before I was). GO FOUR WAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe. I made it for a football party at my job and it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Good recipe! I didn't see that it made 12 servings so my husband and I had it for 2 nights then used the extra chili for cheesy chili dip on Sunday for football! yummy yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: German Valley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This recipe has become a mainstay in our home. It's absolutely fabulous! Can be substituted with ground turkey and turkey (instead of pork) sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Interesting recipe, Josh, that my children really liked. My mom had her own version of 4-way chili that called for spaghetti, chili, canned tamales and grated cheese. Now that we can buy fresh tamales, you'd think we'd use them, but it's just not the same taste or nostalgia-wise. My only problem with your recipe was that I didn't know how many crackers to use. A regular box measures serving size by number of crackers and grams, not ounces. But we all did enjoy your four-way version. Try mine some time. I'll bet your family loves your cooking. Thanks a lot for sharing, Josh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States