Jose's Shrimp Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Excellent! I added a few cloves of minced garlic and one sliced up avocado to this recipe, the avocados stay green and firm thanks to the acid from juice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
If you're going for authentic, sure follow the "cook" in lime juice method; but it's still delicious if you use pre-cooked shrimp. If I had been brave enough to use fresh, raw shrimp I would let it marinate longer just for good measure even if pink/opaque shrimp is the sign of it being done. I really enjoyed the flavors in this dish, despite not being a big seafood fan. I made it for my husband who loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Absolutely Love, I prepare this w/o the celery and avocados. My family enjoys this very much. I goes really quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was so yummy and fresh. I can't wait to make in the summer time. I did make a couple changes... I added: 2 cups Clamato cocktail juice, cucumber, white onion instead of yellow and lemon juice instead of lime. We put this over tostadas. And it was Mmm mmm good. Easy dish to make for a lot of people. 4lbs of shrimp served about 8 adults and 4 kids. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This recipe was very similar to one that I had in a little mexican place in the middle of Nevada. It needed more than one jalapeno though. I was a bit wary of "cooking" the shrimp with the juice. I only had cooked shrimp the first time around and it was bland from not absorbing the juice. It was much better the second day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
so easy to mix and match whatever you like. I love this with mango added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I've been using a recipe similar to this for years, but we call it shrimp salsa. I make it all the time for parties, and I never have any leftovers to bring home. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I love ceviche! great reicipe minus the celery. It took the shrimp about an hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
i am currently in the process of preparing this dish and the shrimp have soaked for over an hour in the lime juice but have not cooked through. be extremely cautious following this recipe under the advised 10 min soaking as food poisoning is extremely dangerous and life threatening, especially shellfish. though the shrimp may appear cooked (white) on the outside be sure to open them and check the center. you may even try cooking the shrimp and then soaking in lime juice. i'm sure the final product is going to be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Haven't tried it yet but it's been over an hour and the shrimp have yet to "cook" through. I just diced them up to try to speed it up as I am serving this in two hours....I recommend letting it marinate all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States