Jose's Shrimp Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caitlin Fogle
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I agree with other comments about the marinating time. It definitely takes more than 15 minutes for the shrimp to be ready. But other than that, this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin Fogle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Brought this to a cookout yesterday and it was a big hit. Based on other reviews, I rough chopped the shrimp before marinating it in the lime juice for about an hour. I added diced cucumber instead of celery. I would probably not add all of the lime juice the next time as there was a lot of excess liquid and it was a little tart, but everyone loved it - even my picky daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is the best shrimp ceviche recipe I have come across yet. Tried it yesterday and the family loved it to death. Just followed the recipe as is and it turned out great. Just the right amount of kick to it and it works really well with the strong flavors from the cilantro and lime juice. If you want yours to be a little hotter just use a couple green jalapenos and chop them up finely. Great job. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bryan Zahariades
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
minus jalapeno, bell and less celery, cooked shrimp instead----- loved this!!! easy, quick and family loved it!! served with tortilla chips ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan Zahariades

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicastanfill
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Used only half an onion, no celery, tasted great. Put it on chips. Definitely takes longer to cook the shrimp than 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Omit the celery - add seeded & diced cucumbers instead, and you've got real ceviche! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was reallly realllllllly good BUT the shrimp did have to marinate for a couple of hours before it was "cooked" all the way through! (Chopping the shrimp up to increase the surface area helps, but still takes about two hours) Seriously worth the wait though. Will make this again, and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Dencent and tasty, I didn't cook the shrimp in lime, I added it after and let the lime juice marinate overnight. Also added extra onion powder and added the into the remainder in with the veggies. Afterwards I added the cevivhe on a tostada then drizzled garlic aioli along with sriacha on top. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Delicious. Easy. I have made this recipe twice. The first time it took about 25 minutes for shrimp to cook in the juice. The second time because I was packing lunches to go I just followed the recipe time of 10 minutes and although they didn't look quite cooked through yet, they continued to cook in the lunchbox and were ready when I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I tried it exactly as the recipe goes. I think next time I'll add more shrimp in it. But it was delicious! I'll definitely make this again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States