Joseph's Best Easy Bacon Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is how I always cook my bacon now. It's absolutely foolproof and I get perfect bacon every time. NOTE: After I pull the bacon off, I use a spatula to help scrape the grease into a jar to save for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I think you'll find that your cooking time depends on how thick your bacon is, as well as how quickly your oven heats up. I used center cut regular bacon, and it took about 16-17 minutes. What was interesting to me is that the bacon didn't shrink up much, and turned out perfectly cooked with no mess in the oven. I left the bacon grease solidify a bit, rolled up the foil, and just pitched it in the trash. Once you get your timing down, this is a great way to cook bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This recipes is fantastic. I used to think, "Why would I need a recipe for bacon?" Then I tried it. WOW. The apotheosis of perfect, easy bacon. Do yourself a favor: Make the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This recipe is similar to the one I use from America's Test Kitchen. They also use the cold oven method but set the oven to 400º, rotating foil-lined pan halfway through cooking, cook time 10 to 15 minutes, depending on size of bacon slices and size of baking sheet. I have found using the convection setting my bacon is crispy in about 10 minutes. Another tip, if putting a little water on the slices before baking, they lay perfectly flat, no curling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxGriffLover
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I have been cooking bacon in a preheated oven for some time, but it turned out like pan fried bacon: shriveled and greasy. Joseph's method turns out picture perfect bacon! It hardly shriveled at all, and had a wonderful texture. I don't know why a simple change makes such a difference, but why question it? The answer is BACON. Thanks, Joseph!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Perfect bacon. This is the way the military "fries" bacon to serve in it's Mess halls. Learned this back in 1967 when I was in the Army's Cook's school. Time saving and perfect crisp bacon for the troops. My wife loves my bacon and all the meals I cook. Still use many of my Mom's recipes for one pot or skillet meals she taught me when in high school. Gerald
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Sorry stove top, but you've burned my bacon for the last time. I'm all about the oven now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I always use the broiler rack so I can keep the bacon fat for cooking in and seasoning. My oven does best at 375 degrees. No more splatter on the stove top for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
What have I been doing to bacon my entire life??? Thank you for this amazing recipe! Will never go back to pan frying this delicious cut of pork. One FYI - tent the baking sheet with more foil...it may get messy inside your oven if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Excellent way to cook a lot of bacon. Bacon was crispy and not overcooked. I used Oscar Meyer Center Cut Bacon. I timed it for 12 minutes and it needed more time. In my case 3 more minutes. Watch it carefully. You can tell the bacon is almost done when little bubbles appear. It will cook a little more when you remove it from the oven. I think cooking time will vary depending on the thickness of the bacon. Just remove bacon from pan and place on a paper towel. Blot grease off and it is ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States