Joseph's Best Easy Bacon Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
First I would like to clarify a misconception about Canadians and bacon: people think we eat "Canadian Bacon", which is actually either "back bacon" or glorified ham. Sure we eat that...occasionally, like anybody else, BUT we DO know what bacon is, and that is what we eat when we refer to bacon - the long glorious strips of salty, greasy fried bacon just like you Americans. And we LOVE it! I don't know why back bacon has become known as "Canadian Bacon", because it's just not the bacon we cook most and love! Now I would like to make 3 comments on my experience with this recipe: 1. Super easy, but depending on thickness of bacon, adjust time. My oven also has "hot spots" so i need to rotate the cookie sheets. 2. CAREFUL when taking out/moving cookie sheets, there may be a lot of grease. Once the grease spilled out and burst into flames in the bottom of the oven...made a huge mess that was hard to clean! 3. My oven takes WAY longer than the 14ish minutes it's supposed to take to heat up...just watch bacon, depending on thickness. Take out when a little under-done or 'just' done, don't over do it unless you like very crispy bacon. Cheers from your neighbors to the North!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
So easy to do. I didn't have to stand over the oven. Just set a timer and went to cut my tomato and lettuce. I cook my bacon @350 for 28 minutes. DON'T PREHEAT the oven. Put the bacon in the cold oven. Now you will have a slow cook on the bacon. Then I added my own style things I did different is I turned the pan evry 7 minutes {all 4 sides} all sides get turned to the back of the oven. For a wonderful seasoning I brushed «Dean Jacobs roasted pecan flavored syurp»on the raw bacon before I put it in time the oven, then 14 minutes in. Take it out and brush it again and grind «OLDE THOMPSON Hot & Spicy seasoning». I also used a broiler pan instead of a cookie sheet. In the broiler grease just falls into the bottom pan. When I'm done cooking a pounds of baocon I let the pan rest for about 5 mins. Then drain the grease in the grease pan. I cook my bacon @ 350 degrees because I cooked private selection apple wood Thick Sliced center cut bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Great recipe bacon is really crispy with no mess. Just a hint I use newspaper with a paper towel on top for draining it really absorbs a lot of grease from the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Our family tried this last Sunday morning, & it was fantastic! Easy to make & absolutely perfect bacon. Didn't shrink & was just crispy enough without being tough. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Zappa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipes is great but try brushing molasses in the middle of cooking. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I always bake my bacon starting in a cold oven. I heard it helps render more of the fat out. I should like excessive use of aluminum foil in this recipe, since my retirement is strongly tied to this commodity, but it is really not needed. Clean up is easy without it. I used to use a rack but quit because it was a pain to clean. I did not see a significant change in the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Simply put this is the way to cook bacon! Just tried it for the first time this morning – used thick cut apple smoked bacon and a large baking sheet lined with foil as per the instructions – wow! Best bacon - The strips stay large – did not shrivel – and the bacon was scrumptious – and super easy cleanup – in fact no cleanup – just bunched up the foil when cooled and threw it away. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe – I'm teaching my kids to do it this way too - great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is the only way that I make bacon. You can also use parchment paper instead of foil. Try sprinkling on fresh ground pepper and brown sugar together. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I used turkey bacon and increased the cooking time by 3 minutes since I like it nice and crispy. Great recipe and a much easier way to cook bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Tried this for the first time this morning....it's a winner already. I had to cook it for a couple more minutes and at the last I put the 'fan-bake' on and it crisped it beautifully. My Sunday mornings just got a whole lot easier! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States