Josephine's Puerto Rican Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
To make this recipe work, you have to cut the rice down to 1 1/2 cups and add at least 1 more cup of liquid. I used a can a chicken broth. If you can't find achiote seeds, buy Achiote y Culantro seasoning packets by Goya and add one. Change the lard for Olive Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
After reading the reviews about the recipe being "bland", I skipped the achiote step entirely and simply added a packet of Sazon with achiote to the first 7 ingredients as everything sauteed. I also added 1/4 cup of store bought Sofrito (frozen Goya brand). I added the 4 cups of water after the chicken was lightly cooked and then added the 4 cups of rice once the mixture started to boil. My rice was cooked throughly, but even after 35 minutes of steaming, it was still slightly "wet" causing the rice to be sticky. I suggest reducing the water by half a cup to ensure the rice is more "fluffy". The meal was very flavorful with the two additional ingredients added, but since my result wasn't from the original recipe, I only gave it 3 stars. It's not exactly like abuelita makes, but it's a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I'm Puerto Rican and I've had my share of arroz con pollo in my life time. This was not a favorite. To me, it was very bland and the water to rice ratio was not adequate. I also do not like to have the bones in my chicken when I'm eating this dish. It's a family preference. So, I used boneless skinless chicken thighs. I had to change so many things to make this come out the way I expected it, that I really wouldn't recommend this recipe at all. Maybe it would work for people who like subtle flavors. I like flavors to pop,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Great flavor but my rice wasn't done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great recipe. I made just a few small changes. Instead of drumsticks I use boneless skinless chicken thighs. Still great flavor but easier (I think). Also I added Adobo seasoning for flavor and of course start with Sofrito that I make myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was excellente recipe, love it definetelly will continue making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Romana, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is the best chicken and rice dish I've ever had!!!! Awsome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izabelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Again, too much work and nothing in return. The rice to water ratio was all wrong. My rice was crunchy and terrible, but at least the chicken was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was bland in flavor and too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Sorry, but this was about the most tasteless rice and chicken recipe I've ever had. A lot of work for little in return.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States