Josephine's No-Bake Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookiegirl40
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Hi, Rachelle, you could omit the peanut butter, but this recipe needs a "binder", something to hold it together, and the flavor would be altered. Play with it, and send back any results. Read your review Kristin, and your right, the pic. does not match the recipe, however, there are other pics. there, and one of them is mine. Please check it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Great granola bar! I used light corn syrup instead of the honey and was very satisfied with the result. I also wanted to add chocolate chips to the bars but I didn't want them to melt when I stirred them into the hot mixture. Instead I mixed everything as the directions said and laid down a layer of granola, sprinkled chocolate chips on top, patted down another layer of granola, chips on top of that, and then a final layer of granola. makes a very thick and chewy granola bar, much better than those paper thin ones from other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I done everything by direction, my ONLY alteration to the recipe itself was I used an assortment of dried fruits plus raisins (mixed both to make the amount called for in recipe). That's what I REALLY like about this recipe is you can "work" with it to add or remove what you like best in regards to the dry ingredients. I really liked the fact that it was sweetened by honey and brown sugar and the fruit. So not alot of harsh sweets. The only thing I would suggest is when your mixing everything, at the point that it gets hard to mix, switch to needing the mixture. that seemed to work pretty good in getting everything combined for pressing into pan. ALL in ALL.... I WILL be making this again. I have already started sharing it with others!! Great recipe. Thank You Cookiegirl40!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I have tried this recipe twice now and it is very good! I omitted the sunflower seeds because I didnt have any but added a bit more coconut because i love coconut. One person commented something about preheating the oven in step 1? Must have been some other recipe they were reading or it has been corrected since the comment. They are soft and chewy and stay very well at room temperature in a sealed container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
These were AWESOME!!! I added almonds and dry cranberries instead of raisins. That's what I had on hand. Also, sprinkled a tab bit of ground flax seed on top with a few sesame seeds. Hub loved them...I will definitely make these again. Thanks cowgirl40
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
OMG!! These were so frickin good! I used plain Cheerios in place of the rice cereal and a mixture of chopped walnuts, pecans and peanuts in place of the sunflower seeds, left out the coconut since I didn't have any and they came out perfectly. At first it seemed like the mixture was not going to hold together as it was a bit crumbly, but once I PRESSED it in the pan and let it set for 15 minutes it came out to be a perfecly held-together granola bar. I love the fact that these are no-bake and ready within a matter of minutes to be eaten. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I only used the first 6 ingredients. I actually used some southern style-Delta Cane flavor syrup(found in pantry, and needed to use up). I also chopped up about 1 cup of roasted almonds. These bars came out so good! Exactly what I was looking for and had the taste for. Great no-bake granola bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe is great! Why have I not tried making granola bars at home before this. It was so easy. I did change it up slightly, but that's the nice thing about this recipe, you could make it in many different varieties. I added an extra 1/2 cup of applesauce as well as 1/2 cup of ground flax seeds. Didn't have sunflower seeds, but used chopped peanuts once and walnuts another time. I used chocolate chips in place of the raisins once and used the raisins the second time. It was great both times. Kids and husband gobbled it up. You could easily add several Tbsp of brewers yeast and make these into yummy lactation bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I was reading this recipe and it sounds great,, but why are we preheating oven in step 1 if these are not baked?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Easy to make and they taste good too. And the recipe is easily modified. I don't like coconut so I left it out and I didn't have any rice crispy cereal so I used corn flakes instead. I added almonds to th dry ingredients and a little maple syrup to the brown sugar/honey mixture. I liked them so much I made a second batch and added some dark chocolate. When mixing the wet and dry ingredients I started out using a spatula but moved using my hands to finish combining them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States