Jo's Rosemary Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
If you've ever been to Macaroni Grill, this bread is a duplicate. (Now there's no reason for me to go back...) Fabulous! I made this bread by hand, (1. yeast + 1/4 c. warm water, wait 10 min. 2. Add flour, salt, sugar, oil knead like heck. 3. Add the herbs & pepper [I used oregano insted of an italian blend, and rosemary from my own garden] and knead some more. 4. Let rise an hour or so in an oiled, covered bowl in a warm place. 5. Punch down, let rise another hour. 6. Bake at 375 until browned. 7. Remove from oven, brush with olive oil and sprinkle with coarse salt.)Serve with olive oil and fresh cracked pepper. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
859 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Amazing bread! I made this by hand, so I started by proofing the yeast in the water for about 5 minutes, then added one cup of the flour, the sugar, salt, and oil and mixed in my stand mixer on pretty high speed until it was a thick creamy batter (looking almost like pancake batter), 3-4 minutes or so. Then switched attachments to the bread hook and began adding flour gradually, along with the herbs and pepper. Knead just until all dough pulls away from the bowl, then finish kneading by hand (about 5 minutes or so). I make a lot of bread and bread flour is expensive, so I find it easier to buy powdered wheat gluten (which is the main extra is bread flour anyway) and add it according to the package directions (I think it is one tsp. for every cup of flour). Also, if you are lucky enough to live near a Penzy's Spices or ever order from them online, their Tuscan Sunset Seasoning (Italian seasoning) is awesome in this!!! I let this rise is a greased bowl for one hour, then punched down, formed into an oval loaf and let rise another hour. I brushed with olive oil and coarse sea salt before baking, and I also spritzed this with water about 3 times during baking (it gives it that crunchy outer crust, but it still stays soft in the middle). I baked this about 20 minutes at 375 then turned the heat up to 425 for about 10 more minutes. Perfect, delicious bread. My husband has already asked me to make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
728 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This bread is awesome, just like Macaroni Grille! The only change I made was using milk instead of water because it makes a more tender crust. We dipped it in olive oil and cracked pepper and served it with lasagna. Yummy. It will make your whole house smell great, too! Also makes a wonderful cheesy garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARA_BULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I let my bread machine mix and knead and baked it in the oven (375 degrees for 30 min.). It was great! Would be good to dip in olive oil with cracked black pepper like they do in the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I have no idea what Macaroni Grill's bread tastes like, but I do know THIS bread is just delicious. It has one more tablespoon of oil than I'm used to using, but maybe that's what made this particularly moist and tender. Using 2 tsp. of fresh, chopped rosemary, this had just the right balance of flavors. Beautiful, fragrant, and simply darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
this recipe is so easy and wonderful. i used fresh rosemary instead of dried. i had no italian seasoning so i added a little thyme and oregano. i think course fresh ground pepper adds a great flavor. do not use "preground" pepper if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I probably would have given this bread five stars if there wasn't quite so much rosemary. A whole tablespoon gave it an almost medicinal taste. Next time I'll use just two teaspoons and I think it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Wonderful recipe! I loved the flavor and the texture. I brought 5 different loaves into work, and this was the favorite. Someone offered me $20 if I'd make him one of his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
LOVE it. Added about 2 more tbsn. flour during kneading, i was scared it was too wet. it smells so good while baking! i've made 4 loaves in the past 2 weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
UPDATE: THIS TASTES EVEN BETTER THAN MACARONI GRILL'S BREAD (I just ate there this past weekend!!!)!!!!! Wow Joe! This is darn good bread!!! I'm not sure if it tastes like Macaroni Grill's bread or not (haven't been to one in ages...), but I bet it does! Made this to go with warm bowls of Andrea's pasta fagioli (also on this site). The combination of the bread and soup was divine! My bf and I really enjoyed our dinner :) I did change things up a bit though.... I put all ingredients in my bread machine (in the order suggested by the manufacturer - wet, dry, yeast on top), turned on the dough cycle and selected the 1.5 lb. loaf setting (this took about 1.5 hours), then took the dough out, punched it down and put it in a greased (with Pam) bowl, turned to coat and covered for 10 minutes. After the dough had rested, I shaped it into a round loaf, covered, and let it rise until doubled in size (a half hour did the trick). Before placing in my 350 degree oven, I brushed the top of the loaf with EVOO and some more (crushed) rosemary and coarse sea salt to taste. The addition of the salt was deelicious and a must IMHO. One thing to note: allow your bread to cool a bit before slicing (we were too hungry to wait, but I wish we had...). Serve with a combination of EVOO, grated Parm cheese and a bit of cracked black pepper, all mixed together for dipping. I think next time I'll add about a tablespoon of Parm to the dough also... Excellent! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States