Jo's Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This was serious YUM! I skipped the chicken bouillon because it just seemed like an odd addition to me. I also added just a small pinch of minced garlic and added about 1/2 a cup of mozzarella to the filling. I used a bottle of butternut squash pasta sauce that I had for a long time that needed using instead of tomato sauce and it was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
way to watery i add 2 eggs to 32ounces didnt like this recipe mine was passed down from gernerations and havent found a better one to date
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I love the hint of thyme. After making this three times, I like it better with half the spinach and onion, and putting a little mozzarella (1/2 cup or so) into the cheese mixture. Thanks for the great recipe! Edited to Add: I just made this again, and for some reason I think I always missed the chicken bouillon powder. I used it this time and it was too salty. Was this recipe edited to include that? I would keep the bouillon powder out. It added a weird flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Didn't like this at all! I was looking for something that tasted like what you would get out. I'll keep looking. It was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I liked this alot and so did everybody who ate it, but the filling was a bit runny. Maybe the ricotta needs to be drained or something? I'll tweak it a little next time and try to firm up the filling. I'll definitely make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
The only addition to the filling that i made was to add some shredded mozarella to it. I used it inside eggplant rolatini, which i wrapped inside a lasagna noodle and covered with marinara and mozzarella. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmela McCleary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
My family enjoyed this recipe but we decided to make our own speghetti sauce to add some extra flavor. We also used fresh mushrooms on top of this dish before cooking which made it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
I added crumbled bacon to the filling....wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States