Jo's Chicken Liver Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Although I skip the whole step with the milk and don't bother with the livers going in and out of the pan more than once, this pate is far superior to any I've made before. I've been taking it to parties over the last few months because after the first try all my friends requested it. A chef trained in classical French method told me it was the best she'd ever had. Thanks Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I'm happy to be the first to review this recipe because it was fabulous! I have a weakness for pate and this did not disappoint! The addition of wine and capers gave the pate a wonderful flavor. Thank you so much! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Very good! The second time I made it I used fresh sage because it was all I hade and that was tasty too. The capers seem to make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Apparently I saved the WRONG recipe..Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This a very good all around chicken pate recipe. I have made a lot of different types. I think most people would like this recipe. I added some fresh lemon juice, just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Wow; Wow; Wow. What can I say this is a dynamite recipe. From a man's perspective with the usual 2 left thumbs this was easy to make and tastes out of this world. Thank you for sharing your recipe. Perhaps this would qualify as "Man Tested" Regards Peter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is ALMOST as good as 'Fritz's Pate' from the Nero Wolfe cookbook and costs about one tenth as much. It'll be my 'go-to' recipe for all but the very most festive occasions. KS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is the most delicious pate I have ever eaten. I made it to be used in a Beef Wellington recipe. It made the Wellington wonderful and the leftover pate was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
THIS PATE IS FAB-U-LOSO!! I have a keen appreciation for pate and this recipe does not disapoint. I made certain to soak the livers for several hours (at least 4) in milk and it's very important not to rinse before adding to the skillet. Also, very important to use a good wine as the flavor will be concentrated. Crappy wine = crappy flavor. I've made this dish with pork livers as well, and while it was also excellent, I personally perfer the flavor of chicken livers as opposed to pork. I've shared this recipe with several of my family and friends and they too claim its the best and easiest (least involved) pate they've made. Good job! Gold stars all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Much too much thyme and rosemary for my taste, and too sweet. My wine could be partly to blame, but I think the recipe needs a lot of fiddling. Also, I haven't made pate before, but it's pretty grey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States