Jorge's Pasta-less Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe, the problem we usually have is that I really like eggplant and he's not crazy about it. I decided to try this out since their were so many ingredients, at way the eggplant would not have to be center stage. He says it's a definite keeper, all,I changed was adding more spices to the sauce and the meat, and I omitted the ketchup. Thanks for a new eggplants recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I would make again. Although I did not use ketchup or diced tomatoes and just used my left over meat spaghetti sauce from another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My husband made this for us and we loved it. You don't even miss the pasta! We had fresh spinach so he used that instead of frozen. He also added a small can of mushrooms. He left out the ketchup. This is the first time I have ever gone back for seconds on lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
2013 Update: Skipped the ketchup and doubled the spinach and parmesan. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJorge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by conqueress
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Eggplant instead of pasta –then adding spinach in the ricotta – what a way to eat your vegetables! This photo is the second day - microwave heated, tasted better with age. I'd heard about using eggplant instead of pasta to 'enhance' health component and shave a few calories. What a great deal eggplant turns out to be - this summer I'm growing a couple of eggplants in our garden after using eggplant on this! I did 'mostly' this recipe, it was a great hit. Reading review I passed on the ketchup. The leftovers were even better than the first day - and the second day it held together – totally. This is wonderful- so good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I loosely followed the recipe because I was using up some items in the fridge. I used some baby spinach instead of frozen, provolone instead of feta, and sausage instead of ground beef. Also, I prefer fried eggplant instead of baked which is what I did. I omitted the ketchup and diced tomatoes because my sauce was chunky. So, despite my changes, this came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Pam Grier
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
could not stop eating it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Grier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Seems like a lot of work, but oh so worth it. It was a hit. I used turkey meat instead of beef. And cottage cheese instead of ricotta. I kept the ketchup really didn't notice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was just okay, and way too much work for just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States