Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Just made these muffins...they are very good. I have never made muffins of any kind before. They are very easy, my 5yr. old daughter helped. I will deffinately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
The only substitution I made was switching out shortening for butter. I beat together the butter and sugar until fluffy, then added the vanilla and eggs. I also wisked together the dry ingredients and saved a little bit aside to toss the blueberries in, to keep them from sinking. Oh, and I also added a little lemon juice to the milk to give it a little tang. I did cut down the heat to 400* as I felt that 450* would cause it to burn on the outside and leave the inside raw. The batter was incredibly fluffy, which makes for a tender muffin. These turned out incredible and the whole family loved them. In my opinion, this muffin recipe is better than To Die For Blueberry Muffins. This will be my go-to blueberry muffin recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOCOOKIE
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These are nearly perfect blueberry muffins. The consistency is just right - not too crumbly, not too stiff. I used fresh blueberries dusted in flour to prevent sinking. I added a streusel topping to some and sprinkled sugar on others. The sugar was the large granule kind, the name of which escapes me at the moment. This recipe makes 12 perfectly mounded regular size muffins or 6 large size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These are the best blueberry muffins I've ever tasted. I was especially pleased because it made EXACTLY 12 muffins. I HATE having leftover muffin batter. I made a crumb topping instead of the one in the recipe. 2 tbspns brown sugar, 2 tbspns butter, and 1/3 cup of flour mixed together till crumbly. Put on top of the muffins before you put them in the oven. My husband and I couldn't get enough of them but the kids didn't care for them. Oh well...more for us!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I am originally from Florida and so know the fame of the Jordan Marsh blueberry muffins! Wish there was a Jordan Marsh here but these muffins are exactly as I remember them so I'm thrilled I can recreate them anytime I want to. The picture with this recipe does NOT do them justice. They came out of the oven a beautiful golden brown and were light, fluffy and full of blueberries. My family just loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
These muffins are great! My kids gave them a thumbs up and even my picky hubby liked them. The only thing I change was I used butter instead of shortening. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Starcher Ritchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Salem, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I picked this recipe b/cit seemed a little lower in fat than the other blueberry muffin recipes I had looked at. I LOVED them!! The consistency was perfect - crunchy on top and moist in the middle, and they are not too sweet. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnywalk

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
These were really good! The only changes I made were that I halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening, used 1/2 whole wheat flour. and used lemon extract instead of vanilla because I was out. They turned out very yummy, the whole family liked them! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
These were very good!!!I also used butter instead of shortening.I added sugar and cinnamon on top before baking. This one is a keeper!!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Came looking for this recipe - always better with fresh off the bush berries!! LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States