Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were yummy. I used butter instead of shortening. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are a good, easy-to-make, light muffin. I used butter instead of shortening and a full pint of blueberries. My batter was nice and fluffy. I baked at 450 for 5 minutes, and then an additional 25 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Wonderful muffin! I followed the recipe exactly, no changes. The tops domed beautifully but they did not spread out over the top of the muffin pan so it was easy to get them out to cool. It's also a very easy recipe and both my small boys were able to help, always a plus :) We'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These muffins are tender, moist and full of blueberries. I'd compare them very favorably to a bakery muffin, quite sweet and with a cake-like texture. Some homemade muffins have a coarse crumb that doesn't keep very well and is best when still warm. These actually seem better when completely cool and keep ok for a day or so. I used butter instead of shortening as the recipe author suggests and didn't measure the berries, just added until it looked about right. The batter was quite stiff, I had to spoon mounds into my cupcake tin filled with foil liners and it came up above the rim of the cups quite a bit. I was worried that the batter would run over, but I think the stiff batter and the 5 minutes at 450 and then turning the temperature down to 375 for the rest of the cooking sets up the tops so they stay put. They didn't dome up really high, but they weren't flat or sunken. Definitely my new blueberry muffin recipe. And if you were wondering about the name, Jordan Marsh was a department store in New England that sold blueberry muffins with a sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
my husband and i loved these muffins they were perfect for breakast and did not last very long..i followed he recipe exactly and used cupcake liners and sprayed the top of the pan with pam had no trouble removing them...a new favorite in our home thanks for the recipe:) EDIT: I decided to switch things up and add a streusel topping with coconut, it took these over the top so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Followed recipe exactly, and they were fantastic! I only had "butter flavored" shortening, not sure it made any difference in flavor. batter filled the 12 cups right to the tops and the final muffins were gorgeous. These are not the sticky, overly sweet muffins that so many recipes go for. They are subtle and hardy. I think a full pint of blueberries is perfect, and you'll want to really grease the cups and use a light colored pan. I had trouble getting them out for my first batch and I used a darker pan for the second batch which overcooked them a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
We loved these! The sprinkle of sugar on top is great. I filled 12 muffin cups almost completely to the top & they came out beautifully! As a personal preference, I would probably add fewer blueberries next time, but hubby thought they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Made these today with my 5 year old. She did most of the work, and they came out beautifully!! They are delicious, in fact, my kids kept saying they tasted "like fresh from the bakery"! Will make plenty more of these to share with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Easy to make. Better than muffins at coffee shops and just the right portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dancing Queen
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These were the first blueberry muffins I have made from scratch, and they were so worth it. I made these exactly as directed, but I did use butter flavored shortening. These muffins were so pretty when I pulled them out the oven. The batter was thick, making this a dense muffin, but it is still good. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States