Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Wonderful- forgot the sugar on top but it ends up that my husband prefers it with out. He loved them. I loved that I didn't really have to worry about overmixing the batter as you do in other recipes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I have been using this recipe for a while and it never disappoints. A change that I made that puts it over the top is to use butter instead of shortening and Buttermilk instead of milk. BUTTERMILK BUTTERMILK BUTTERMILK - once you use it you will never go back. I also use this batter to pour into a coffee cake and top with a brown sugar crumb. My kids beg for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I've never had the real Jordan Marsh blueberry muffins since the store closed well before my time. However, when I was younger my mom had a clipping where John Pupek, the baker at Jordan Marsh, disclosed the recipe and this is identical to the one I have used my entire life. Its really important to use fresh blueberries and not to crush any of them, that ends up giving it a blue tint. I have also found that is important to grease the top of the muffin tin, and let them cool completely, otherwise the tops stick. This is my absolute favorite recipe for blueberry muffins and nothing else ever compares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mnmspencer
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My husband told me he didn't like blueberry muffins... so I cut the recipe in half. Mistake by me....They were gone that night with my husband eating 4 of them! Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnmspencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Anyone who grew up in Boston remembers Jordan Marsh and the bakery down stairs!! I have this recipe, I also have a son with milk allergies, so I make these with almond milk and I sprinkle Wilton's large granule sugar on top before baking!! They are the best ever, especially when using a jumbo muffin pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My mom has had this same recipe for at least 35 years. I made these today and they are fantastic! I used butter instead of shortening, and 2 cups of frozen, but freshly picked, blueberries. Jordan Marsh, for those who are wondering, was a popular department store in New England. They had a bakery, and a restaurant, and were famous for their muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I thought this was one of the best ever blueberry muffin recipes that I have made, even with my modifications. I did not have white gran. sugar so I used 1-1/2 cups confectioners sugar instead. Since I had to use more of that I also increased the amount of milk by 1/4 cup. I have never had an original Jordan Marsh muffin but these were great! They are also great as banana blueberry muffins too. Just use half the blueberries and add 2 mashed bananas. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I grew up with Jordan Marsh blueberry muffins. What a treat they were. Unfortunately, this recipe does not even come close to the originals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
We had a Jordan's cafe in our home town store and loved the muffins. I made them and my hubby loved them. "I am not a muffin lover; but, these were moist and loaded with the berries. I'll give them a 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I don't know about Jordan Marsh but these are pretty good. Used real butter. I got 18 standard muffins (mybe my tins are smaller).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States