Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
We had tried the blueberry muffin at Jordan's Furniture from the Enchanted Village and wanted to copy. This was very easy and close as you'd want. My wife recommends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I blended this with Aunt Blanche's recipe using half cup margarine, one cup sugar, two cups berries & a tsp of vanilla. Nothing special. Still looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very tasty, flavorful, and bursting with blueberry goodness! I was skeptical, however, about baking them at 30 minutes at 450 degrees. Seemed like a long time at a high temperature. It was a hurried morning, and I didn't notice the end of the recipe where it said to reduce the heat to 375 degrees. OOOPS! Thankfully I checked on them after 20 minutes, and took them out of the oven, as they were definitely done and the top edges were starting to burn. Very, very tasty nonetheless! Will definitely make again (using the correct directions)! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by BamminAm
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Just baked some today while watching the World Cup and they were SOOOO GOOD!! I used butter instead of shortening [cuz I like that little extra salty kick] and completely enjoyed the BLUEBERRY LOVE flowing from that amazing Muffin! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamminAm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Wonderful- forgot the sugar on top but it ends up that my husband prefers it with out. He loved them. I loved that I didn't really have to worry about overmixing the batter as you do in other recipes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I have been using this recipe for a while and it never disappoints. A change that I made that puts it over the top is to use butter instead of shortening and Buttermilk instead of milk. BUTTERMILK BUTTERMILK BUTTERMILK - once you use it you will never go back. I also use this batter to pour into a coffee cake and top with a brown sugar crumb. My kids beg for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I've never had the real Jordan Marsh blueberry muffins since the store closed well before my time. However, when I was younger my mom had a clipping where John Pupek, the baker at Jordan Marsh, disclosed the recipe and this is identical to the one I have used my entire life. Its really important to use fresh blueberries and not to crush any of them, that ends up giving it a blue tint. I have also found that is important to grease the top of the muffin tin, and let them cool completely, otherwise the tops stick. This is my absolute favorite recipe for blueberry muffins and nothing else ever compares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mnmspencer
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My husband told me he didn't like blueberry muffins... so I cut the recipe in half. Mistake by me....They were gone that night with my husband eating 4 of them! Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnmspencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Anyone who grew up in Boston remembers Jordan Marsh and the bakery down stairs!! I have this recipe, I also have a son with milk allergies, so I make these with almond milk and I sprinkle Wilton's large granule sugar on top before baking!! They are the best ever, especially when using a jumbo muffin pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My mom has had this same recipe for at least 35 years. I made these today and they are fantastic! I used butter instead of shortening, and 2 cups of frozen, but freshly picked, blueberries. Jordan Marsh, for those who are wondering, was a popular department store in New England. They had a bakery, and a restaurant, and were famous for their muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States