Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I used butter instead of shortening and these muffins came out very very good. They are light and fluffy and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
excellent muffin...i've been searching for a great recipe and this really does measure up...the only change i made was adding 2Tbsp plain yogurt and and 1/4 cup each shortening and butter....thanks for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Great basic recipe. I didn't have to leave them in for the amount of time stated in the recipe - it was a lot shorter in my oven. To make this 5 stars, add a tablespoon of lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Made a Gluten-Free version of this recipe and it was muffin perfection. I'm very picky about GF foods as I grew up eating bread before developing allergy. Bar none these are the best muffins I've ever eaten, GF or with gluten/wheat. I add a pinch of yogurt as well to add a little fluffiness. I have subbed the blueberries for cranberries and orange and tastes great! So you can have a lot of versatility with this recipe. If you are allergic to soy (I am) I recommend Spectrum shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great muffins! Thank you for the recipe. Made this muffin today, substitute the shortening with butter and it made a HUGE difference. Moist and soft, perfect for evening tea or coffee. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunga Kemboja

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Not the best muffins I have had, but I had to make substitutions based on what I had available. I used 1/2-1/2 white sugar & brown sugar, 1/2-1/2 butter & shortening and egg whites equivalent to two eggs. I also topped them with cinnamon/sugar instead of just sugar. It made exactly 12 muffins, but they didn't rise as much as I was expecting from all the previous reviews. They were a little bland, though the cinnamon on top helped with that. I can't imagine this recipe being OMG Amazing, but it served it's purpose for a late night sweet craving. Also, I typically use muffin cups just to cut down on cleanup. The recipe called for greasing the tins and I didn't see an reviews where others used cups. So, I thought it would make a different. It didn't - just FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Four stars as written but worthy of five stars with some minor revisions: use real butter instead of shortening; increase sugar to 1 1/4 cups; smash half of the blueberries with the back of a fork before adding to batter (leave the remaining half uncrushed); bake at 425 for 5 minutes and then reduce temp to 350 and finish baking for approx. 25-30 minutes. Yummy! I've finally ended my quest for the perfect blueberry muffin. Hubby and all three kids raved about them. They fought over the last one, so I had to whip up another batch to make them all happy. Didn't mind since I got another one (or two) for myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Eating my second muffin as I write this! I am a muffin newbie and this recipe was right up my alley - easy and delish! I used butter instead of shortening and made my own buttermilk using 1/2 tsp. of white vinegar. Watch your cooking time...mine were done after 20 minutes or so - made 18 average sized muffins total. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
We had tried the blueberry muffin at Jordan's Furniture from the Enchanted Village and wanted to copy. This was very easy and close as you'd want. My wife recommends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I blended this with Aunt Blanche's recipe using half cup margarine, one cup sugar, two cups berries & a tsp of vanilla. Nothing special. Still looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States