Jordan Marsh Style Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This will be my favorite muffin recipe. Made a few days ago, creamed the sugar & butter then used the 2 whisk beaters on my little hand mixer and mixed everything gently except the blueberries. Added the still frozen wild blueberries, a tad over 1 cup and folded in. Made 12 huge muffins. I still had batter left so I made 3 smaller ones. Next time I'm going to make them a little smaller and get 18. Topped each lightly with a mix of brown sugar & cinnamon. I did do the 425 for 10 min. then turned heat down. Kind of scared me but it turned out fine. They really puffed up and spread out over the top of the muffin tin but popped out quite easily. I was very pleased how light they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Excellent!! this recipe is easy to make..loved it;-) delicious..try it;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made these while on vacation. I liked the very simple directions. I wrote down the directions on a freezers bag and listed all of the wet ingredients needed and placed the dry ingredients in the bag. In the morning I simply added the wet ingredients needed and mixed everything at once- one batch blueberry and another chocolate chip. I used butter in place of the shortening and also used almond milk. Family really enjoyed waking up to these baking. The muffins were a great texture and just the right sweetness. These will absolutely become a vacation tradition as they are simple and quite a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I made this recipe as written except that I used raspberries, blueberries and diced fresh peaches for the fruit. My boys ate them up and my friend remarked, "You could sell these!!" Thanks for a rockin' recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SVENSKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very nice flavor, but not sure if close enough to the real Jordan Marsh muffins I remember. My second time making these, I used half shortening, half butter, which seemed to improve the taste and texture of the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
THANKS ANN ,I HAVE TRIED THIS RECIPE TWICE, BUT NOT CUPCAKES JUST ME AND DAD HERE. PUT IT IN A8X8 GLASS BAKING DISH.USED 2 STICKS OF BUTTER .INSTEAD OF SHORTNING AND 1/2 BAG OF WILD BERRYS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Just made these this afternoon. I preheated the oven to 450, then turned it down to 375 when I put the muffins in to bake, then baked them for 20 minutes. They were perfect. I also sprinkled the tops with a little cinnamon sugar instead of plain sugar before baking. They got rave reviews at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I tried to make these low fat by substituting applesauce (no sugar added) instead of butter/shortening but they didn't turn out as well as I would have liked. The muffin liners stuck to the muffin! I also doubled the amount of blueberries (which in my opinion saved my low fat mistake.) Next time, I will make these just as directed. I think they will be better with the butter/shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
My son pick out this recipe and made it when we had company over the weekend. Muffin are one of the very few things that I perfer out of a box rather than homeade. However, this recipe was a pleasent surprise. It had a great texture and flavor. It's a keeper! He even baked them a little too long and they were still moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States