Jollyrogers' Chilaquiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I'd never even heard of this particular dish, but it looked good and decided to give it a shot. Like Betty, I cannot seem to find corn tortilla's here in Jersey, so I too used the chips instead. Just because I had it in the house, I poached boneless chicken breasts which I shredded and added to the dish. I always use cocoa powder in my chile and love that layer of flavor, not to mention the nice color it gives the sauce so if it sounds strange to anyone give it a go; you won't be sorry. My daughter went nuts over this recipe and immediately gave it five stars. (Update on this recipe: Important and sorry but I forgot to include that I could not find the tomato sauce suggested in the recipe so I used plain sauce and added a bit of cayenne. A friend of mine did use the hot tomato sauce and he was sorry he did. Beware it's quite spicy) Very good JollyRogers and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are the best Chilaquiles I have ever tasted! I made them for a Blue Bunny Ice Cream Party celebrated on New Years Eve at my local community center. At 11 o' clock at night, they were served to 63 guests, and not one person did'nt go back for seconds! They were a big hit! I make them every sunday night now! My friends can't stay away! Thank you for this delicious recipe, becuase my family and I couldn't be happier! I owe you big time!:) -starcafe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starcafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
..this chilaquiles dish was awesome,however i used tortillia chips,because i cannot buy fresh corn tortillias here in nl.i lived in sacto,ca.for 12 yrs where i got addicted to mexican food. only problem is when i came back home to live,i couldn't get the ingred to cook it.now i can get a lot of items but not fresh corn tortillias.my son is a truck driver & used to run to the us, he would bring them to me.he doesn't run u.s. any more,so there goes my supplier. i sure miss the fresh tortillias,however i do subsitute the chips for the fresh .this dish must be to die for with the fresh tortillias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I was skeptical even after it was ready, because it's not that pleasing to the eye... but the flavor is incredible! No one even realized I used meatless chorizo. I prefer too cook the onions with the sauce than to leave them raw in the vinegar. And if you can't find corn tortillas, I'd personally suggest flour tortillas over using chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALASKA GIRL
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Super delicious!! Layered mine with onions, olives and black beans marinated in vinegar, plus cilantro. Used cchorizo. Outstanding! Eggs with it would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
not sure why the directions say parmesan cheese when that's not in the ingredients list, but if you use the cotija you'll be a happy eater!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made enchiladas and used the essentially used it as the sauce. Super Duper Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious. I didn't fry the corn tortillas and instead cooked them in the oven until crispy to make a bit healthier. It worked very well. I also didn't marinate the onions and olives in the vinegar. I just cooked them in with the tortilla mixture as usually don't like vegetables marinated in vinegar. I added the mexican style hot sauce on top, as it didn't say where to add it into the recipe. I used soy burger crumbles as my husband is a vegetarian and I also used more taco seasoning that called for (by accident) and was still delicious. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mother Sunshine
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Super delicious! I modified it with pinto beans instead of meat, enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce (we like spicy!), pepper jack instead of cotija, and topped w/cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Brought it to a group potluck and it got the most compliments. Just enough spice to it. Added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States