Jollyrogers' Chilaquiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
One of my favorites - plus, cocoa is very healthy and it's not often I get to use it in something that is not a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mother Sunshine
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Super delicious! I modified it with pinto beans instead of meat, enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce (we like spicy!), pepper jack instead of cotija, and topped w/cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Brought it to a group potluck and it got the most compliments. Just enough spice to it. Added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I added scrambled eggs to the layers. Much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
not sure why the directions say parmesan cheese when that's not in the ingredients list, but if you use the cotija you'll be a happy eater!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious. I didn't fry the corn tortillas and instead cooked them in the oven until crispy to make a bit healthier. It worked very well. I also didn't marinate the onions and olives in the vinegar. I just cooked them in with the tortilla mixture as usually don't like vegetables marinated in vinegar. I added the mexican style hot sauce on top, as it didn't say where to add it into the recipe. I used soy burger crumbles as my husband is a vegetarian and I also used more taco seasoning that called for (by accident) and was still delicious. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made enchiladas and used the essentially used it as the sauce. Super Duper Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Never heard of this dish before so I didn't know what to expect. Very very tasty, a little on the spicy side (from the chorizo), and not very substantial - more like a thick meatless chili. I followed the recipe exactly, used all the optional ingredients, but used shredded cheddar. I think I'll make this again, as it was very tasty, but instead not fry the tortillas (very labor intensive to fry them crisp, just to turn around and put them in a sauce to soften) OR use the corn tortillas to make enchiladas and pour the sauce over. UPDATE: I wanted to make this, had all the ingreds, except only flour tortillas. The difference in taste and texture was huge - do not substitute with flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I was skeptical even after it was ready, because it's not that pleasing to the eye... but the flavor is incredible! No one even realized I used meatless chorizo. I prefer too cook the onions with the sauce than to leave them raw in the vinegar. And if you can't find corn tortillas, I'd personally suggest flour tortillas over using chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALASKA GIRL
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Super delicious!! Layered mine with onions, olives and black beans marinated in vinegar, plus cilantro. Used cchorizo. Outstanding! Eggs with it would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States