Jollof Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Wonderful and tasty dish especially on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Wow! This has shot up to my favorite dish. So easy to make. The flavor is incredible. Spicy, but not too spicy. Really unique. Reminded me of food we get at a local Jamaican restaurant. Meat was done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was EXCELLENT! The chicken was falling off the bone. Don't change a thing! I used the same pot that I use when I make sauce; 8 qrt. The flavor was unbeleivable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I thought this recipe was excellent!! It was spicy but not too spicy!! I really was very pleased. The only changes I made were (3 lb) chicken breasts cut in halves and brown rice instead of white rice! Also as someone mentioned earlier, you need a HUGE pan, I started out in a large skillet and realized right away that that was not going to work! The dish was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Our family really enjoyed this recipe. We're spicy food lovers, so I increased the cayenne and added a few more peppers. After preparing the meat, I finished cooking in the crockpot. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
What a wonderful recipe! I only used 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes, as I was afraid it would be too spicy. However, I should have trusted the recipe, I will use the full amount next time. I also used whole boneless, skinless chicken breasts which is much easier and was great. I will definately be making this recipe again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Pretty good! I used cut up chicken breast that I browned with the onion. Good flavor and my husband liked it too. Will probably make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
The flavor of this is WONDERFUL, but there were a few things I had issues with. First of all, it needs to be pointed out that you need a HUUUUUGE saucepan, like a Dutch oven to make this with, or you will end up with a HUGE mess like I did. Also, cutting a whole chicken up into 8 pieces is not as easy as it sounds. I think I will use chicken PIECES next time. I subbed peas for the carrots and used jarred tomato sauce (i.e. pasta sauce) instead of the paste, and only one can of tomatoes. It came out great (despite what I mentioned above)!!!! This is a good one pot meal and you can vary your vegetables--very versatile. I will make this again (in a bigger pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I love Jollof Rice ... Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States