Jollof Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Very good. I am adding this recipe to my menu. The chicken is moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This was a good meal. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This recipe was very good, though next time I will probably strain one of the cans of tomatoes. It was a little soupy, so that change should make it better. I made this for 3, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
this was good. my family loved it...i didnt like the nutmeg flavor at all(my fault because i accidentally added too much). other than that, it was a great dish. i'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mercedes0602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Great Taste! Family loved it and I make it regularly now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I'd probably really give this a 3.5 star rating. I substituted peas for the green beans, as I didn't have any and just wasn't up to go to the store again. The dish was good and I'll make it again, but it didn't seem like it was breaking the kind of ground that you'd think a "West African" dish would. Still my husband said "it's comforting" and that he liked it, and I did like the ease with which it goes together. Far better for a fall or winter Sunday than a pretty green Sunday in spring, because it is a warm, homey, stick-to-your-ribs kind of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This recipe was excellent, except I wasn't a big fan of the chicken thighs. I cooked it for my boyfriend and he agreed. I would definately make this again, but next time I'll use boneless ckicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
I love Jollof rice so when I tasted the final product of this particular recipe I was thoroughly disappointed. The whole thing turned out mushy and almost like a bad stew. 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 2 cups water and only 1 cup of rice??!! I finally got an acceptable product by working my way down to 1.5 can stewed tomatoes, 1/4 cup water, and 2 1/4 cup rice. This recipe gives a bad name to Jollof and African food, eeandoh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Homey comfort food. To serve 3, I halved the recipe using 5 bone-in chicken thighs, but I removed the skin first. Not something I would make for company, but good for an easy one-pot weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This was just ok. I cooked it in the crockpot. I put the rice in at the end, and it cooked up too mushy. My fault. Probably won't make again though. My kids didn't like it. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States