Jollof Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Pam G
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made a double batch of this recipe for an International Potluck at my place of work as I was assigned to bring in an African dish. I chose this one as I saw it was a one-pot dish, meaning I could keep in warm in large crockpot for the potluck. Not a spoonful was left after the potluck - everyone loved it. I made the recipe just as the recipe calls for with regard to ingredients except I used chicken breasts cut into small pieces instead of the whole chicken and instead of dicing carrots, I bought precut raw crinkle cut carrots to save time. The mixture of spices gave it an wonderful flavor that got even better as it simmered in the crock for 3 hours at work. I did add about an extra 1/2 to 1 cup of water to the mixture after the initial cooking period as I knew it would be simmering quite a while in the crockpot and didn't want it to dry out. It was perfect for eating at noontime (I made it that morning at home.) If you like spicy, you could add a bit more crushed red pepper but then it might hide the flavor of the rosemary and nutmeg. I stuck to the recipe this first time. It actually was just right for my taste. As I said, I doubled the recipe and it more than filled a big crockpot. I even had a bit left that didnt' fit into the crock which I froze and ate later. It was just as good, maybe better, eating the leftovers. This is a recipe worth making again in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
this is tasty recipe, only the rice came out too mushy. i would have added more cayenne as i like my food very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Good. I thought the spices would be weak but there was pleanty of spice. It was good but not wow- it does make a lot of food- use a big pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Tasty and easy to make. I used 5 fresh tomatoes instead of canned and it turned out really good. The meat was very tender and just fell off the bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This recipe made my husband loose all doubt in my cooking skills! It is very easy and loved all around. Leave out some of the cayenne if you are feeding small children as it is a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Very nice recipe! It was kind of sweet, but I really enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Family loved this. Next time though, I will brown the chicken first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Wow--delicious! For those who question the authenticity I can only say that I've travelled through Africa, and the place is huge! If you don't get the same BBQ from one Southern town to another in the U.S., why would a West African recipe taste exactly like what you've had?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I loved this even though I sort of messed up. I did not have any rosemary so I used different spices. I used a tsp of Italian seasoning and 1.5? tsp cajun seasoning. I did not use the nutmeg or worchester sauce. I did use the pepper flakes and cayenne. This is a very healthy meal. I accidently use 1/2 a can of tomatoes because I read it wrong. I don't know why they did not say 1 28 ounce can of tomatoes. I think it would have been better with the whole can. However I think I will do the cajun spices next time also I enjoyed it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My green-bean plants are producing like crazy--and this was a great was to utilize them! I put in about half a pound of green beans into this, even though I reduced the recipe to serve 4. My 4 yr old kept asking for more. I did not add any water to the recipe and the consistancy was very nice, not soupy or runny at all. I will probably be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States