Jollof Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Awesome blend of spices. I made some changes, as I was missing a couple of ingredients: Only had about 1/2 cup frozen green beans, so I used them and added a red bell pepper. Only had basmati rice, and I cooked it separately and added it at the end. To make up for the extra water not being used for the rice, I simmered uncovered for a little while. Delicious dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This turned out pretty good a little dry but delicious. I used chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
While this recipe was pretty good...it's not exactly authentic. My husband is from West Africa, so I thought it would be fun to make him something that would remind him of home. While he did recognize the dish...he said there was something that just wasn't quite right about it. Overall, it tastes fine. But, if you're looking for the real thing...I'm sorry, but this just isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this dish for dinner tonight with brown rice and it turned out great. I cooked the brown rice separately and mixed in with the rest when everything was cooked. I also browned the chicken with the onions, but took it out and then followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very good. Made it for my sister's "Around the World" Themed Bridal shower and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Reece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Very good dish! It ended up being a sort of thick stew, which was great on a cold, rainy day. I doubled the rice (the listed amount was really not enough) and used red rice for a slightly healthier meal. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I chose this dish because my husband is West African and I thought it would be fun to give him a new take on Jollof rice. Unfortunately, this did not go over well. It didn't have the spice or rich flavor of Ghanaian jollof rice. The tomato flavor was overpowering, and it would have been better with bellpeppers than the green beans. If I were to make it again, I would double the cayenne pepper, half the tomatos (exclude the tomato paste or use fresh tomatos) and use more rice and water. I also fried 1/2 the chicken and served it on the side for hubby. I won't be making this again - I'll stick to the tried and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Yummy!! My whole family love this, even the 5 year old. A tad spicy, but great. Will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was excellent. Makes lots, and tastes great. I had a bit more carrot, and a bit more rice than called for, and didn't have the problem of soupyness that some reviewers complained about, but I'm guessing that's because my extra rice soaked up the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam G
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made a double batch of this recipe for an International Potluck at my place of work as I was assigned to bring in an African dish. I chose this one as I saw it was a one-pot dish, meaning I could keep in warm in large crockpot for the potluck. Not a spoonful was left after the potluck - everyone loved it. I made the recipe just as the recipe calls for with regard to ingredients except I used chicken breasts cut into small pieces instead of the whole chicken and instead of dicing carrots, I bought precut raw crinkle cut carrots to save time. The mixture of spices gave it an wonderful flavor that got even better as it simmered in the crock for 3 hours at work. I did add about an extra 1/2 to 1 cup of water to the mixture after the initial cooking period as I knew it would be simmering quite a while in the crockpot and didn't want it to dry out. It was perfect for eating at noontime (I made it that morning at home.) If you like spicy, you could add a bit more crushed red pepper but then it might hide the flavor of the rosemary and nutmeg. I stuck to the recipe this first time. It actually was just right for my taste. As I said, I doubled the recipe and it more than filled a big crockpot. I even had a bit left that didnt' fit into the crock which I froze and ate later. It was just as good, maybe better, eating the leftovers. This is a recipe worth making again in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States