Jollof Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
bell peppers instead of green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was delicious. However, I will cook my rice (Mahatma Brown Rice) separate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I sometimes change up my spices, like using a little cinnamon or cardamon. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This necessarily isn't your traditional African Jollof rice. It looks and tastes more like a jambalaya rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
A friend was in AFRICA when I made this recipe. I read all the reviews here and did the things they said would make it more "authentic." I don't know about that, but I do know this--It was very good, very easy, and I will continue to make it. Thanks AR & eeandoh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Queen Bea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Batesburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
they also use a bit of curry, of course this is the Americanized version, you can add or take away much of the heat of the spices as you want, the nutmeg also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. It is more like gumbo than anything else. It is not authentic at all. Subtle changes made to a recipe is ok but this is extreme. There should be no Nutmeg. Use Thyme instead. too many tomatoes make it taste like an extra rich pasta sauce. blend fresh tomatoes, red bell peppers, onions, and habenero pepper and loose the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is a nice recipe, but its been "westernized". It will taste better if you use fresh ingredients and no canned stuff. It is best to exchange rosemary with thyme and remove the nutmeg. The carrots and peas are optional for jollof rice. And the chicken can be cooked seperately from the rice, and the broth added in with the tomatoes. the chicken can go in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made this for a Safari Themed Party ~ it was a HUGE hit !!! I used boneless chicken tenders and thighs to make it easier with 60 people and it was fantastic. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this for my family the other night and it was great! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States