Johnsonville Zesty Italian Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
A bit bland, needed something to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I'm grateful that I read the other reviews first. This was an amazing, budget friendly, yet gourmet dish, with a couple adjustments. I didn't want the sauce thin and soupy, as the other reviewers mentioned, so I left out the chicken broth altogether. I also added cream cheese, as several others mentioned, to make a pink sauce, a creamy, tomato sauce. I swear, it's incredibly close to many gourmet dishes I've had in fancy Italian establishes. Being Italian myself, I'm very picky. I was truly amazed that this simply delicious meal came together to impress my family and friends so well. I had my doubts all the way up until serving, when the sauce finally thickened on the noodles. It's a perfect dish with my two small adjustments based on the other reviews! I would've given 5 stars if it had listed these imperative changes. I, also, used ziti instead of linguine. It just seemed to fit and hold the sauce better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Alto, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
We really enjoyed this and did not make any changes! Quick, easy and can be a great starting point to add more of your own flavors like mushrooms, bell peppers etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I tried this. family loved it yay. Now i can try it on my date night with my beu. I will add just a little bit of some seasoning to it. It was a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
My son went back for seconds! My family really enjoyed this dish. After tasting the sauce, I felt it needed a bit of tweaking. I added a cup of heavy cream, 1 T. of Italian Seasoning, 1 tsp. of garlic powder. At the end I thickened the sauce, by adding 2 T. of corn starch with a 1/4 cup of cold water. Just add some garlic bread and a salad and you have a delicious dinner. I would certainly serve this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Saw this recipe and thought it would be a nice alternative to spaghetti and meatballs. After making a few changes, I nixed the broccoli and added red bell pepper, plus added a little butter to sautéed onions and garlic, this recipe was really good...DELICIOUS and colorful too! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I used tequila-lime chicken sausage and mushrooms and added about 3/4 brick of cream cheese to the liquid mixture before adding the pasta and broccoli.Very good. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
We really enjoyed .... did add mushrooms and sliced the onion country thick... loved the flavor, loved the comfort. Great on a cold Northern Illinois Night after work for a quick dinner in front of the TV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I liked the flavors in this recipe, but there are problems with the ingredient proportions. First of all, if I make this again, I will use less pasta and more broccoli. The broccoli was a welcome addition to the heaviness of the sausage, and I wanted more broccoli and far less pasta. Secondly, I use non-stick skillets to saute, and 3 Tablespoons of olive oil seemed excessive to me. I cut back the olive oil to 2 teaspoons,and it was quite enough. Also, I feel the cooking method could be streamlined. Three pots are necessary if you prepare the way the recipe suggests. In addition, the sauce is quite watery, so if your family is accustomed to a thicker sauce, you will need to make some adjustments here. Since I used Johnsonville hot Italian sausage, the dish was quite flavorful. I just feel this recipe is not quite ready for prime time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States