Johnsonville Italian Sausage Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I make this all the time as a quick dinner. It's really bendable to what you have on hand, any kind of pasta or sausage links. I sometimes cut the pasta back and throw in more vegetables (chunked zucchini, mushrooms, more red pepper). If I have extra time, I'll throw together a batch of quick marinara. I like to make fresh rolls or garlic bread to go with. My family really enjoys this dish. NOTE: Some jarred pasta sauces can be a little bland, keep that in mind and add in some spices to taste if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is one of our family's all-time favorites! SOOO easy to make, and sometimes we just use the pasta, pasta sauce and grilled sausage. If you have a good sauce, you don't need the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Senoia, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good! I cooked the sausage in a skillet on the stove instead of the grill, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Was great. The whole family enjoyed it. I couldn't find the Italian links by Johnsonville anywhere. I ended up using Kielbasa Sausage and adding Italian Seasoning to the sauce and used a jar of Italian Pasta Sauce. Definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I used smoked sausage instead of the Italian sausage. I also did not add the chopped parsley. I cut up the sausage and fried it in a skillet and then I sauteed onions and garlic in the same skillet that I had used for the sausage. Added spanish and zucchini to the dish. Everyone (including my pickiest eaters) liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Added red pepper flakes for some spice, and my husband and step son LOVED this! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was so yummy and very easy to make. A dinner you can make after a long days work. There is also plenty left over for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've been making this basic recipe for almost 25 years now. My husband really loves it. I don't use the parsley as I don't think it adds very much. We like it spicy so I use hot Italian Sausage. Really gives it a good bite. I also change up the sauce all the time. But the Tomato Basil is the best as it compliments the spicy Italian Sausage the best. For color I use both red and green peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was definitely a nice change of pace. Instead of canned sauce, I used homemade tomato sauce. I think the recipe calls for more pasta than is needed. Had green bell peppers on hand so I used those instead of red. It will be added to our rotation of dishes, as it was a really nice 'make ahead' meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a super-simple, easy weeknight meal and we loved it! I couldn't find the Johnsonville Italian sausage so I used the Johnsonville Italian Chicken sausage and I'm hooked. I didn't have any pre-made pasta sauce so I sauteed some onion and garlic with the sausage until the onions were cooked. Then I added some plain tomato sauce along with fresh thyme and dried basil and oregano. I let all of this simmer while I cooked my pasta (I had to use whole wheat, bowtie pasta - that's all I had.) Put it all together and topped with a bit of parmesan cheese. I wanted to go back for seconds but the husband ate it all - ha. I'd love to try it with zucchini or mushrooms, also (there's really no limit to the veggies you can put in this.) Love anything that I can put together so quickly after a long day at work, plus it's versatile to adapt to you pantry ingredients. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States