Johnsonville Italian Sausage Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I make this all the time as a quick dinner. It's really bendable to what you have on hand, any kind of pasta or sausage links. I sometimes cut the pasta back and throw in more vegetables (chunked zucchini, mushrooms, more red pepper). If I have extra time, I'll throw together a batch of quick marinara. I like to make fresh rolls or garlic bread to go with. My family really enjoys this dish. NOTE: Some jarred pasta sauces can be a little bland, keep that in mind and add in some spices to taste if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is one of our family's all-time favorites! SOOO easy to make, and sometimes we just use the pasta, pasta sauce and grilled sausage. If you have a good sauce, you don't need the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Senoia, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good! I cooked the sausage in a skillet on the stove instead of the grill, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Was great. The whole family enjoyed it. I couldn't find the Italian links by Johnsonville anywhere. I ended up using Kielbasa Sausage and adding Italian Seasoning to the sauce and used a jar of Italian Pasta Sauce. Definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I used smoked sausage instead of the Italian sausage. I also did not add the chopped parsley. I cut up the sausage and fried it in a skillet and then I sauteed onions and garlic in the same skillet that I had used for the sausage. Added spanish and zucchini to the dish. Everyone (including my pickiest eaters) liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Added red pepper flakes for some spice, and my husband and step son LOVED this! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was so yummy and very easy to make. A dinner you can make after a long days work. There is also plenty left over for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very easy and very good! It takes no time at all to put this together for a quick weeknight meal. So, even if you're short on time you can have a nice Italian dinner without a lot of fuss and the leftovers freeze well. All I had to add was a nice garden salad and garlic breadsticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've been making this basic recipe for almost 25 years now. My husband really loves it. I don't use the parsley as I don't think it adds very much. We like it spicy so I use hot Italian Sausage. Really gives it a good bite. I also change up the sauce all the time. But the Tomato Basil is the best as it compliments the spicy Italian Sausage the best. For color I use both red and green peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was definitely a nice change of pace. Instead of canned sauce, I used homemade tomato sauce. I think the recipe calls for more pasta than is needed. Had green bell peppers on hand so I used those instead of red. It will be added to our rotation of dishes, as it was a really nice 'make ahead' meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States