Johnsonville Italian Sausage Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a super-simple, easy weeknight meal and we loved it! I couldn't find the Johnsonville Italian sausage so I used the Johnsonville Italian Chicken sausage and I'm hooked. I didn't have any pre-made pasta sauce so I sauteed some onion and garlic with the sausage until the onions were cooked. Then I added some plain tomato sauce along with fresh thyme and dried basil and oregano. I let all of this simmer while I cooked my pasta (I had to use whole wheat, bowtie pasta - that's all I had.) Put it all together and topped with a bit of parmesan cheese. I wanted to go back for seconds but the husband ate it all - ha. I'd love to try it with zucchini or mushrooms, also (there's really no limit to the veggies you can put in this.) Love anything that I can put together so quickly after a long day at work, plus it's versatile to adapt to you pantry ingredients. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
A good, quick dish that is easy to prepare. I added a little chopped onion as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've been making this basic recipe for almost 25 years now. My husband really loves it. I don't use the parsley as I don't think it adds very much. We like it spicy so I use hot Italian Sausage. Really gives it a good bite. I also change up the sauce all the time. But the Tomato Basil is the best as it compliments the spicy Italian Sausage the best. For color I use both red and green peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz Dalton
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is a regular dish in my house. Easy to make and always tastes great. I omit the red peppers and double the garlic. Great meal for anytime of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
it was great but i wish it had more meat so next time im going to double the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Added red pepper flakes for some spice, and my husband and step son LOVED this! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Was great. The whole family enjoyed it. I couldn't find the Italian links by Johnsonville anywhere. I ended up using Kielbasa Sausage and adding Italian Seasoning to the sauce and used a jar of Italian Pasta Sauce. Definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was so yummy and very easy to make. A dinner you can make after a long days work. There is also plenty left over for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made this easy meal for my roommates and they loved it. few ingredients, big flavor. The only suggestion would be to cut back on the noodles and put more veggies in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I used smoked sausage instead of the Italian sausage. I also did not add the chopped parsley. I cut up the sausage and fried it in a skillet and then I sauteed onions and garlic in the same skillet that I had used for the sausage. Added spanish and zucchini to the dish. Everyone (including my pickiest eaters) liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States