Johnsonville Italian Sausage Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
So simple to make. I added onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Made it just like it said and it is DELICIOUS! Here's what I would suggest: Cut the bell pepper to 1/2-inch rather than 1-inch pieces. Cook the sausage, remove from pan, slice, and drain all but about a tablespoon of fat from pan. Return sausage to pan and add bell peppers; saute a few minutes to soften. Add the sauce & garlic and let simmer while you boil the pasta. Drain pasta, pour sauce mixture on top, and add the parsley if you want. Stir to mix and you're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a very easy shortcut weeknight meal to prepare. I used penne shaped pasta instead of rigatoni because it was what I had in my cabinet. I also used Johnsonville 50% pork/50% chicken mild Italian sausage to cut back on some of the fat calories. The fresh parsley brightened up the dish and gave it a fresher flavor. I rounded out the meal with a simple green salad and French rolls. Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was definitely a nice change of pace. Instead of canned sauce, I used homemade tomato sauce. I think the recipe calls for more pasta than is needed. Had green bell peppers on hand so I used those instead of red. It will be added to our rotation of dishes, as it was a really nice 'make ahead' meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
The family liked this, was easy to do. My only draw-backs after seeing how the family was plating their bowls....was they were grabbing more of the meat and equal parts of the noodles and could have used a bit more sauce. Having said that....16 ounces of noodles is too much, that leaves little room for enough pasta sauce to go around and doesn't stay moist. Ending up in adding more sauce to accomendate the leftovers. I'd make this again, in a heartbeat, but would curve my pasta to about 10-12 ounces only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made this last night minus the red peppers (no one here eats them) and the family and I really enjoyed it. I took one star away because of the pasta amount. It calls for way too much when you compare it to how much meat you have (at least for us.) Maybe a smaller pasta or halving it would help, we will cut the amount down the next time I cook this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Fantastic!!! Awesome and easy recipe!!! My son and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! The red pepper/pasta sauce stands up nicely to the rigatoni and sausage. This dish is full of bold flavor. No variations needed. Just garnished with grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Absolutely love this stuff!! Made it tons of times and its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this recently and loved it. I had all the ingredients on hand. I would leave out the red bell pepper next time. It doesnt really add anything to the dish. I also used Albertsons brand plain spaghetti sauce and added McCormick Italian Seasoning. Other than those modifications it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States