Johnsonville Italian Sausage Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was definitely a nice change of pace. Instead of canned sauce, I used homemade tomato sauce. I think the recipe calls for more pasta than is needed. Had green bell peppers on hand so I used those instead of red. It will be added to our rotation of dishes, as it was a really nice 'make ahead' meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
The family liked this, was easy to do. My only draw-backs after seeing how the family was plating their bowls....was they were grabbing more of the meat and equal parts of the noodles and could have used a bit more sauce. Having said that....16 ounces of noodles is too much, that leaves little room for enough pasta sauce to go around and doesn't stay moist. Ending up in adding more sauce to accomendate the leftovers. I'd make this again, in a heartbeat, but would curve my pasta to about 10-12 ounces only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made this last night minus the red peppers (no one here eats them) and the family and I really enjoyed it. I took one star away because of the pasta amount. It calls for way too much when you compare it to how much meat you have (at least for us.) Maybe a smaller pasta or halving it would help, we will cut the amount down the next time I cook this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Fantastic!!! Awesome and easy recipe!!! My son and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! The red pepper/pasta sauce stands up nicely to the rigatoni and sausage. This dish is full of bold flavor. No variations needed. Just garnished with grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Absolutely love this stuff!! Made it tons of times and its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this recently and loved it. I had all the ingredients on hand. I would leave out the red bell pepper next time. It doesnt really add anything to the dish. I also used Albertsons brand plain spaghetti sauce and added McCormick Italian Seasoning. Other than those modifications it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a super-simple, easy weeknight meal and we loved it! I couldn't find the Johnsonville Italian sausage so I used the Johnsonville Italian Chicken sausage and I'm hooked. I didn't have any pre-made pasta sauce so I sauteed some onion and garlic with the sausage until the onions were cooked. Then I added some plain tomato sauce along with fresh thyme and dried basil and oregano. I let all of this simmer while I cooked my pasta (I had to use whole wheat, bowtie pasta - that's all I had.) Put it all together and topped with a bit of parmesan cheese. I wanted to go back for seconds but the husband ate it all - ha. I'd love to try it with zucchini or mushrooms, also (there's really no limit to the veggies you can put in this.) Love anything that I can put together so quickly after a long day at work, plus it's versatile to adapt to you pantry ingredients. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
A good, quick dish that is easy to prepare. I added a little chopped onion as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've been making this basic recipe for almost 25 years now. My husband really loves it. I don't use the parsley as I don't think it adds very much. We like it spicy so I use hot Italian Sausage. Really gives it a good bite. I also change up the sauce all the time. But the Tomato Basil is the best as it compliments the spicy Italian Sausage the best. For color I use both red and green peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States