Johnsonville® Italian Sausage Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Been using this recipe for around 35 years. I use half ground beef and half italian sausage. Also, frozen spinach works fine. If you don't have ricotta cheese use cottage cheese. I've also tried it with swiss cheese on top, then sprinkle parmesan on that and bake. Great recipe, don't think you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe is great if you use it as a base for making lasagna. I realize this is a Johnsonville recipe, but the ground sausage wasn't sold at the store I went to so I used italian ground turkey (which is healthier anyway) and turned out just as good in my opinion. Also, made my own marinara/basil/red wine sauce. One other thing I changed that seemed to add a little more flavor was I sauteed the garlic and onions separate from the meat/marinara sauce and put them in with the ricotta spinach with a little powdered garlic as well. I'm sure it doesn't matter but I don't like plain layers of ricotta when you get that bite. I flavored my own sauce with oregano so it was in the pasta, not just on top like the recipe says (I would recommend making the sauce with more spices, even if you buy jarred). Also, add on a few more sprinkles of mozzarella on top about 10 mins before the lasagna is supposed to be done... then leave in the oven for just a tad longer than it's supposed to once you turn the oven off so the italian spices brown a little and the flavors blend (YUM!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I keep switching between this recipe and Enchilada Lasagna that I've taken from gourmetrecipe.com. The taste is just very adorable. I think I can't let go both of these recipes. The procedures written on this page is a little bit different from mine. I guess I'm gonna have to apply it even though I already have different versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was an absolute hit with the family! Only a few changes were made on my part. I used 2 cups ricotta and 2 cups low fat cottage cheese. I also used frozen spinach, thawed instead of fresh. Time consuming but worth it, as there will be left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was underwhelming to say the least. I was disappointed in the lack of flavor in this dish. The recipe really needs to kick up the seasoning and meat. It was edible but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
OMG, this is the best lasagna my husband and I have ever had. This tastes worthy of being served in a restaurant..!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was super good! I made this even easier by using no-boil noodles for the first time, and it turned out perfect. I am so very excited to have this as left overs for the next few days. I used Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage and it really made the lasagna stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I thought this was just OK. I used Johnsonville ground Mild Italian sausage and it was actually too mild for my personal taste. However, my main disappointment is that the sausage was very greasy. I usually cook with very lean ground beef, so this was a bit on the heavy side for me. I drained the meat in a colander and pressed on it with paper towels to get out as much of the grease as I could, but when I cut the first piece there was a rush of liquid in the pan and at least 3/4" of grease gathered where the piece had been. All that aside, it gets four stars because my kids ate it and my daughter even had seconds. Next time I make this I will use a spicier sausage and really, really drain the grease off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
First, I made this AS WRITTEN. I hate it when people write a review based on all the changes they made to the original recipe. My teenage son and his friends thought it was fantastic. I didn't care for the texture of the sausage, too chewy, but I liked the rest so I will probably make it again but stick with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States