Johnsonville Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I like to make this recipe for two different recipes; Meatball Subs with homemade marinara and Barbeque Meatballs. This comes together quickly with ingredients most people have on hand. Sometimes, I'll throw in garlic/onion powder and italian seasoning. They hold together well and don't get mushy when left to hang out in whatever sauce you add them to. NOTE: This can be made healthier with ground turkey or chicken and spiced up to make taste like ground pork with brown sugar, sage, red pepper flake, marjoram, fresh ground pepper and a little salt. Fools my husband every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These meatballs are absolutely delectable! When I make it, I use ground beef instead of sausage. I also use one package of onion soup mix instead of the chopped onion. They always turn out fantastic and I was happy that I followed the recipe directly the first time I made it. When I did make them for the first time I thought that they were going to be too runny because it seemed that there was a lot of milk and egg, giving it a very soft texture. However, I was wrong! They turned out perfect, and even better the second time when I used the onion soup mix. Thanks for the best meatball recipe I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Instead of using all sausage I used a half pound of ground sirloin & one sweet Italian sausage link. My kids aren't crazy about onion so I diced it very fine. I formed mini-meatballs (made 33) slightly larger than a giant gum ball & baked for 10-12 minutes. Half an hour before eating I simmered the meatballs in spaghetti sauce. My kids LOVED the meatballs! My six year old even swiped a couple off the cookie sheet before they even went in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I used 2 lbs of hamburger to feed 10 instead of sausage, and it was amazing! We all loved it and we will have this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcloyd23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon Springs, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Wonderful Meatballs! Just the right amount of flavoring without overpowering my sauce. Will use them in Sub Sandwiches also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were good, I made them as an appy. used sauce as a dipper, just make sure not to over cook them as they become dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very good recipe. I used Italian turkey sausage and had a good result, very tender. Also, instead of regular bread crumbs, I used Panko bread crumbs. Once I've baked for 20 minutes, I add to my marinara sauce and let simmer for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicklet
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
YUM!!! I made these to go with Spaghetti, but my husband couldn't wait for dinner to get into them :-) This is definitely going to be a favorite of ours! They work great with pasta, but would be great by themselves as an appetizer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Simple, straightword recipe for Italian meatballs. My Mom would sometimes add a little sausage to the hamburger mixture for her meatballs and this was a nice change using all sausage. It definitely got my husband's approval (not that he needs much coaxing to eat spaghetti and meatballs). This was perfect over pasta with "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" from this site. Pair it with a nice garden salad and a glass of wine and you've got a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Wow.!!!! These are the best meatballs I have ever had. My Hubby and I could'nt stop eating them. I made them as written except for adding garlic. I will make them again and again.. Thanks for a great recipe.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked meatballs.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States