Johnsonville Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Simple, straightword recipe for Italian meatballs. My Mom would sometimes add a little sausage to the hamburger mixture for her meatballs and this was a nice change using all sausage. It definitely got my husband's approval (not that he needs much coaxing to eat spaghetti and meatballs). This was perfect over pasta with "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" from this site. Pair it with a nice garden salad and a glass of wine and you've got a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I loved these! They were perfect. I served them with pasta, and I think they were great that way, but I think they would be good as appetizers in a barbecue-style cocktail sauce too. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
When I make lasagna, I put little meatballs in between the layers instead of a meat based sauce. These sausage meatballs would be perfect for that. When you rate a recipe, you should rate it before you change it. Don't change it and then rate it. It's not the recipe that's written that you're rating, it's your version of that recipe that you're rating. I, too would probably add garlic to the recipe and maybe even a bit of parsley as well. I also like the idea of beef and sausage mix. These recipes are meant to be tweaked to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Too high in sodium and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have my own perfect meatball recipe, but variety is the spice of life, so I decided to give these a whirl. I'm glad I did because they were delicious. I made as directed and they turned out great. I'll definitely be rotating these with my other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Family Favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I had made these for dinner today. I admit, I almost never make pork except for bacon on occasion. So, I was a bit surprised when these actually did not come out tasting like what I know as meatballs, besides their appearance, but more like a round breakfast sausage in taste and texture. Although, some people may enjoy the difference especially if they really love sausage. Working with ground sausage, is kind of new to me. I think they need more seasonings to work as meatballs, with marinara, like herbs or garlic. The flavor was very mild. I also did add 15 minutes to the bake time, without any other changes, just because I like ground meats cooked well. Might try crumbling the leftover cooked meatballs into other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by CafeAmericano
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made as written except I used panko breadcrumbs. Flavorful and delicious; I used the Johnsonville sweet Italian sausage. The wife said some of the best meatballs she's ever tasted, even beating my Spanish albóndigas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Delicious! Since the sausage is already so well seasoned, there's very little work to mixing these up and getting them ready. Great with spaghetti or by themselves without sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I also used a package of union soup mix instead of chopped onions. And I used half a pound of ground chuck and three links of spicy italian sausage with the casing removed. Simmered in homemade spaghetti sauce for 30 minutes to an hour. I can't wait to get to the leftovers that didn't make it into the spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked meatballs.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States