Johnsonville Easy Sausage Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mariahsimone
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is a good basic recipe, but putting raw sausage on pizza is never ok. It might not cook thoroughly and it will produce a very greasy pizza. We added pepperoni, diced black olives, and banana peppers and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariahsimone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Mr. LTH deemed this the "best pizza ever". That may not sound like high praise, but I make homemade pizza more than 50 times a year, with a lot of variations. I made this w/homemade crust (Jay's Signature Pizza Crust from this site), homemade sauce (Exquisite Pizza Sauce from this site), and Kraft (R) Pizza Cheese, shredded cheddar, and fresh mozzarella. I pre cooked my ground sausage to avoid greasiness and I still found the crust to be a bit limp as a result. I baked at 550 for 6 minutes on bottom rack and another 6 on the top. I'm decidedly NOT a sausage enthusiast and I enjoyed this, too, though not as much as Mr. LTH. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I actually cooked my sausage beforehand (I used ground Italian sausage) due to other reviewers' concerns about greasiness - this worked great! I used a homemade, whole-wheat crust and added a whole bunch of other toppings (eggplant, mushrooms, onions, and the sausage) because I figure that's the fun of making pizza at home! The ground sausage cooks up quickly in the skillet and you can drain the grease off of that, making it perfect for topping your pizza. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Yum.. dinner tonight. Added some red onion and shrooms... the sausage is so tasty, you don't even need extra seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Great for a quick meal. I sauteed the sausage along with onion, garlic and orange & red bell peppers. Also used some shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
We loved this pizza! Very quick to throw together for a Friday night! I love that the sausage cooked in the oven instead of precooking on the stove before adding to the pizza. This is a great flavorful, quick recipe that uses ingredients I normally have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I browned the sausage first and glad I did because I had a chance to let it drain...I think the pizza would have been way too greasy otherwise...it had a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p and q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Easy, tasty and fast! I loved the Johnsonville mild Italian sausage. I fried mine first to remove some grease. I like sausage with that crispiness on the outside anyways. I kept eating the sausage as I removed from pan because it was so good! I will definitely make again! I'm giving the recipe 4 stars but I give the sausage 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Sausage pizza has always been a favorite of mine. We loved the combo sausage pizzas I made. I precooked the sausage in a fry pan so that I could drain the grease. I used the Johnsonville all natural mild and hot Italian sausage to make combination pizzas. I used a 1/2 pound of sausage for each pizza. The combo pizzas I made may not be simple, but we love lots of toppings. I loaded up on toppings which included black olives, green pepper, onion, green chili, mushrooms, sausage, and pepperoni. I topped the pizza with shredded provolone cheese and mozzarella cheese. The day before, I made homemade crust, home made sauce and cut up all the veggies. The prepping the day before did make it easier to make the pizzas the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this for my husband and once again, the sausage was a stand out. We don't like green peppers in this house, so normally I add yellow for him and red onion. I wanted to try and stay as true to this recipe as possible so I just made it with the sausage. On its own, it was lonely. Next time, I will make sure to have his red onion and yellow pepper and I think this would be outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States